« Graduation 2009 -- St. Pierre's speech | Main | Pharmacologist "provocative" »

Carole Bland award winner announced, faculty recognized at assembly

Elizabeth R. Seaquist, M.D., was honored with the first Carole J. Bland Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award, May 26, a highlight of the 2009 Celebration of Faculty and Faculty Assembly. “Carole devoted her entire career to the development of faculty,” said Medical School Dean Deborah E. Powell, M.D.; she showed that mentors are essential. “Betsey exemplifies Carole’s gift for mentoring.” The Minnesota Medical Foundation award was established by Carole Bland’s widower, Dick Bland, and includes funding along with recognition.

Faculty who had been previously recognized at the April 17 Medical School-MMF awards ceremony also were honored, as were 42 faculty promoted to associate or full professor.

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs Roberta Sonnino presented information about the Pulse Survey. Participation rates for the Medical School faculty were lower than the Twin Cities campus mean. Still there was good news: “We seem to like the people we work with.” Responses indicating dissatisfaction with the tenure process should begin a dialogue, said Sonnino. Finally, in these economic straits, she asked, how can we show we value faculty and staff? One faculty member commented on the lack of recognition for weekend work by clinical faculty. “Duly noted,” she said.

David Ingbar, M.D., incoming chair of the Faculty Advisory Council, recognized Carol Lange, Ph.D., for her service as chair over the last year and noted some of next year’s activities for the FAC.

In addition, questions were solicited (but none emerged) on the hard-copy reports from the Education Council, Admissions Committees from both campuses, and Scholastic Standing Committees on both campuses.