« December 9 message | Main

December 30, 2011 message

Good Morning: I hope all of you have a great New Year. This will be my last Regional Director blog. In this message I do want to share some information about a number of staff changes as well as my thoughts on the leadership and organizational transitions.

First some updates on staff and office transitions:

Lincoln County Support staff position is currently being advertised. Audrey Weverka had been in that position for a few weeks and has made the decision to return to her previous employment. Her last day with Lincoln Extension was yesterday, December 29th. The application deadline for this position is January, 12, 2012.

Yellow Medicine 4H Program Coordinator. Amelia Ryan has been named 4H Program Coordinator in Yellow Medicine County. Amelia was among several great candidates who interviewed for this position, and brings previous experience in a temporary role with Extension in the south Metro. She will begin her position in Yellow Medicine County on January 3, 2012

Darrell Cox will begin as Regional Director - Southwest on January 12, 2012. Darrell will join Regional Director Holli Arp in leading Extension Operations in the Southwest region. Together Holli and Darrell will sort out the work with the counties and Regional Offices. Until that time and prior to Darrell's start date, feel free to direct operational issues in the region to Holli.

Mary Jo Fox has accepted a reassignment to the Extension Regional Office in Willmar. That office, located in the Universities Mid-Central Research and Outreach Center on the MnWest Technology campus, will open January 9. 2012. Mary Jo will be overseeing setup issues in the new office beginning January 3, 2012.

Darrell Cox, Regional Director - Southwest will office in the Extension Regional Office in Willmar. Other Educator and Staff assignments to this Center are pending.

The address for the Extension Regional Office in the Mid Central Research and Outreach Center will be 1802 18th St NE, Willmar, Mn. The main phone number will be 320-235-0726 and should have dial tone on January 9.

The Extension Regional Offices in Hutchinson and Fergus Falls closed this week. All Educators and Staff were offered reassigned office locations. Those reassignments are as follows:


Catie Rasmussen - Mankato Regional Office
Cindy Peterson - UROC
David Nicolae - Farmington Regional Office
Grant Crawford - Willmar Regional Office
Jim Paulson - Rochester Regional Office
Kim Asche - Mankato Regional Office
Margaret Haggenmiller - Saint Cloud Regional Office and Telecommuting Agreement

Janel Zimmerman and Pam Herrmann declined reassignment offers, and end their employment with Extension today.

Fergus Falls:

Ryan Pesch - Moorhead Regional Office
Doug Holen - Morris Regional Office
Bret Oelke - Morris Regional Office
Karen Terry - Morris Regional Office
Barb LaPlante - Morris Regional Office

Marie Tysdal did not accept a reassignment offer and ends her employment with Extension today.

And finally, today, (December 30, 2011), is my last work day as Regional Director. Next week, (January 3, 2012), I will begin my role as Director of Field Operations. I am very confident that the Regional Directors - Southwest, (Holli and Darrell) along with the Southwest Regional Leadership Team, (Trish Sheehan, Mary Schroeder and Don Nitche), will give outstanding leadership and support so the great Extension Programming and Resources will continue to make a difference for the people of the Southwest region.

Have a great year.


Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)