myU OneStop

Center for Advanced Studies in Child Welfare

Center for Advanced Studies in Child Welfare

Tentative 113th federal congressional schedule, leaders announced

| No Comments

The first session of the United States 113th Congress has been (tentatively) announced. According to the U.S. Senate website, the 113th Congress will convene on January 3, 2013. Minnesota's representation is as follows:

  • Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
  • Senator Al Franken (D-MN)
  • Representative Timothy J. Walz (D-MN1)
  • Representative John Kline (R-MN2)
  • Representative Erik Paulsen (D-MN3)
  • Reprentative Betty McCollum (D-MN4)
  • Representative Keith Ellison (D-MN5)
  • Representative Michele Bachmann (D-MN6)
  • Representative Collin Peterson (D-MN7)
  • Representative Rick Nolan (D-MN8)

The Senate has a Democratic party majority while the House of Representatives has a Republican party majority. Leadership for both has been announced.

U.S. Senate

Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV) and Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL) will continue in their leadership positions as Majority Leader and Majority Whip (respectively). The Minority Leader will continue to be Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY) while the Minority Whip will be Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX).

Senate committee chairs have not been announced yet.

U.S. House of Representatives

Rep. John Boehner (R-OH) will continue as Speaker of the House and Rep. Eric Cantor (R-VA) will continue as Majority Leader. Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) will continue as the Democratic Leader, and Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD) will continue as the Democratic Whip. The Democratic Caucus Chairman will be Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA), who was previously the Vice Chair.

The House committee chairmen for the 113th Congress includes Minnesota's own Rep. John Kline, who will chair the Education and the Workforce committee. Other child welfare-relevant committees & their chairmen include Budget—Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI), Financial Services—Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX), Judiciary—Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), Oversight and Government Reform—Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA), and Ways and Means—Rep. Dave Camp (R-MI).

Leave a comment