University of Minnesota
Driven to Discover

EDPA alum receives Sidney Suslow Award

Steven DesJardins, professor of higher education at the University of Michigan, was awarded the Sidney Suslow Award at the recent conference of the Association for Institutional Research (AIR). Professor DesJardins received his Ph.D. in 1996 in higher education in the Department of Educational Policy and Administration (EDPA), now the Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development (OLPD).

The award is named in honor of legendary IR author Sidney Suslow for his impact on AIR publications and scholarship, this award recognizes an individual's scholarly contribution to the field of institutional research. The award recognizes an AIR member for distinguished scholarly contributions to institutional research over a significant period of time. The criteria for the award are as follows: 1) The scholarly work of the nominee clearly is of importance to institutional research, institutional planning, or to policy-making in higher education; 2) The scholarly work of the nominee represents significant, original, and/or creative adaptive contributions or applications to institutional research/higher education; and 3) The scholarly work is broadly recognized as being of high quality in its conceptual framework, its presentation and development of relevant ideas and practice, and its implications and applications for institutional research and higher education

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

College of Education & Human Development | 612-626-9252 | 104 Burton Hall, 178 Pillsbury Dr SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

© 2012 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.