Major Awards

6.jpgSara M. Evans, Regents Professor and Distinguished McKnight University Professor, has been selected for the Ada Comstock Distinguished Women Scholar Lecture Award. This prestigious lecture series honors the scholarly accomplishments and leadership of distinguished women faculty at the University of Minnesota. Evans will present her insights in two lectures to a campus and community audience in 2008-2009.

18.jpgAllen F. Isaacman, Regents Professor
and director of the Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change/MacArthur Program, was awarded the 2007 Award for Global Engagement. This all-University award recognizes faculty and staff members for their outstanding contributions to global education and international programs in their field, discipline, or the University.

19.jpgProfessor Ruth Mazo Karras received the 2008 Distinguished Women Scholars Award. This award honors the accomplishments of distinguished women scholars at the University. Recipients are selected based on their impact on the field, national and international scholarly reputation, distinction in teaching, and contributions to the university, profession, and the wider community.

20.jpgProfessor Kay Reyerson has been elected a Fellow of the Medieval Academy of America, the largest and most prestigious association committed to the study of the medieval world. With her five books and more than three dozen articles, Reyerson is one of the foremost historians of medieval economics and trade. She has held guest professorships in Montpellier and Paris.

21.jpgSteven Ruggles, Distinguished McKnight University Professor and Director of the Minnesota Population Center, was named Regents Professor in 2008. The Regents Professorship is the highest rank the University of Minnesota offers faculty and is limited to 25 positions. It recognizes faculty members who have made unique contributions to the quality of the University of Minnesota through exceptional accomplishments in teaching, research and scholarship or creative work, and contributions to the public good.

22.jpgNicole M. Phelps received the Best Dissertation Award from the University of Minnesota Graduate School for her thesis: "Sovereignty, Citizenship, and the New Liberal Order: US-Habsburg Relations and the Transformation of the International Political System, 1880-1924" (2008). The annual award recognizes the University's top Ph.D. graduates in four broad disciplinary areas.  Nicole Phelps is assistant professor of history at the University of Vermont.



Powered by Movable Type 4.31-en

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by cla published on July 2, 2009 3:24 PM.

Supporting History was the previous entry in this blog.

Long Live Journalism is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.