MFA Student News

Split cover imageSwati Avasthi has signed a two-book deal with Knopf. The first book Split, a young adult novel, will be published in 2010; the second book, Bidden, is scheduled for 2011. She received the Thomas H. Shevlin Fellowship in 2009. Her short story, "Swallow" (Water~Stone, Vol. 11) was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Finally, she was a finalist in the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators Work-in-Progress Grant.

Amanda Beck's poem "Covetous" was published in LIT.

Eric Brownell won a Marcella DeBourg Fellowship.

Colleen Coyne's poem "St. Teresa" appears in the 2009 "Health and Illness" issue of Pebble Lake Review. Coyne also won a Marcella DeBourg Fellowship and received a two week Gesell Summer Residency at the Anderson Center in Red Wing. She has three poems in the MisTranslation folio of Drunken Boat's 10th anniversary issue.

Meryl DePasquale published two poems in Midway Journal. She was a poetry finalist in the 2009 Loft Mentor program.

Ben Doty's very short story "The Shaman Can't Call the Spirit Home" received a commendation in the 2009 Sean O'Faolain Short Story Competition. He was a finalist for Yemassee Journal's 2008 William Richey Short Story Contest for his story "Mammy." His poem "Constellation" appears in an online issue of Paradigm . His essay titled "Can literature provide a novel approach to professional ethics?" appears in the July/August 2009 issue of CFA Magazine. His story "Minute of Angle" is in the Summer 2009 issue of the Colorado Review.

Libby Edelson received a full fellowship to the 2009 Prague Summer Seminars.

Sheena K. Fallon received a two week Gesell Summer Residency at the Anderson Center in Red Wing.

Sarah Fox's poem "Who Are" is in the fall 2009 issue of TAMMY.

Patrick Hueller is the recipient of a Dorothy McRee Scholarship to the Loft's Children's and Young Adult Literature Festival.

Molly Sutton Kiefer's poem "Beekeeping" appeared in Wicked Alice, an online literary journal.

Brian Laidlaw was a poetry finalist for the 2009 Loft Mentor program.

Colleen McCarthy published work in dear camera.

Kevin O'Rourke's poem "Carmine" is in the fall 2009 issue of TAMMY.

Holly Vanderhaar will publish an essay in the fall 2009 issue of Pinch.

2009 Gesell Award winners:
Creative Nonfiction: Josh Morsell; Honorable Mention: Heather McPherson
Fiction: Matt Burgess
Poetry: Brian Laidlaw



Powered by Movable Type 4.31-en

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by cla published on September 24, 2009 3:41 PM.

MFA Alumni News was the previous entry in this blog.

Subpoenas to Unmask Anonymous Internet Users Continue to Challenge News Media and Courts is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.