BA Alumnae/i News

Stacey Amo (BA 2008) returned to Minnesota in 2009 after two years as an English instructor in primary schools in Lille, France. She is currently getting her masters in literature at Minnesota State, focusing on postcolonial literature. She presented her paper, "Where Does He Call Home? Nationality and Environment as Identity in Albert Wendt's Sons for the Return Home" at the 19th annual British Commonwealth and Postcolonial Studies conference. She also presented this year at the annual College English Association conference and the national Popular Culture Association conference. Amo will be applying to PhD programs for Fall 2011.

Patrick Barry (BA 2004) teaches English in the Upper School of the Blake School in Minneapolis.

Crystal Boyd (BA 2007 summa cum laude) is enrolled in the University of Colorado's Graduate Program in Museum and Field Studies.

Thomas Boyle (BA 2007 summa cum laude) was accepted into the Master's program in the Department of Semiotics at the University of Tartu in Estonia with a full tuition scholarship.

Rebecca Dosch Brown (BA 1990 magna cum laude) is Assistant Academic Adviser in the University Honors Program. A 2010 What Light Poetry winner and a 2009 miniStories Grand Prize winner, she published the flash fiction "Birdman" and "The Trousers" on the site.

Adam Brunner (BA 2004) became Associate Editor at MVP Books, editing and developing books covering individual and team sports, health and fitness, and outdoor recreation. He was previously Editorial Assistant at University of Minnesota Press.

Scott Carlson (BA 1998) was the Bryant Jackson Lecturer at Illinois State University in May 2010, speaking on "Libraries and the Future." He continues as a reporter for the Chronicle of Higher Education.

James Chase (BA English and BS Aerospace Engineering 1999) has been a systems engineer at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory since 2002. He received an MS from MIT in 2001.

Carolyn Crooke (BA 1991) published the second installment in her "Disillusionists Trilogy" (urban fantasy), Double Cross, with Ballantine/Spectra. She writes under the pen name Carolyn Crane.

Jessica Holm (BA 2004) is enrolled in the University of Colorado Graduate Program in Museum and Field Studies.

Imani Jaafar-Mohammad (BA 2001 magna cum laude) earned her JD from William Mitchell College of Law. She served as a staff attorney for the Legal Aid Society of Minneapolis and is now a partner at MJM Legal, practicing in the areas of estate planning, business law, and criminal defense. She is also an adjunct professor at William Mitchell College of Law and a senior speaker for the Islamic Resource Group.

Zahra Khorasani (BA 2002), former Department of English peer adviser, has entered the University of Minnesota's doctorate program in Higher Education. She completed the English MEd teaching license program here, taught middle/high school for two years, then returned to the University as a CLA adviser; she is currently Academic Adviser in the College of Design.

Anne Klingbeil (BA 2004) is Advertising and Promotions Coordinator for the University of Minnesota Press.

Christina (Soderstrom) Nguyen (BA 1997 summa cum laude) is Senior Writer & Social Media Manager for High Point Creative in St. Paul. She will be published in the 2010 Haiku Society of America Members' Anthology.

Chelsea Nutting (BA 2009 summa cum laude) is currently a student in the University of Minnesota's TESL masters program.

The Honorable James Rosenbaum (BA 1966; JD 1969) was recognized as one of 21 Alumni of Notable Achievement in the College of Liberal Arts in April. Judge Rosenbaum retired as Senior U.S. District Judge in Minneapolis this past August. He is also a member of the Department of English Advisory Board.

Tresa Undem (BA 1997 summa cum laude) is Vice President for Lake Research Partners in Washington D.C., where she works with non-profits, foundations, issue advocacy organizations, and media campaigns, conducting research on a variety of progressive policy issues. She holds a master's degree from the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania.



Powered by Movable Type 4.31-en

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Teresa Sutton published on December 7, 2010 3:18 PM.

Faculty News was the previous entry in this blog.

Scholarship Awards is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.