myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

July 2010 Archives


| No Comments

Professor Michael Dennis Browne retired this spring after teaching creative writing and poetry in the Department of English since 1971. Professor Brown was honored with the Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education, the CLA Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Award, and the College of Continuing Education Distinguished Teacher Award. He also won Minnesota Book Awards for his collections Selected Poems, 1965-1995 and You Won't Remember This: Poems. A librettist, he and composer Stephen Paulus were nominated for a Pulitzer Prize for their oratorio To Be Certain of the Dawn, which was recorded by the Minnesota Orchestra and released on Bis Records. He continues to collaborate with Paulus and is working on new poetry and essay collections.

Professor Edward Griffin retired this spring after 44 years with the Department of English. During his tenure, Professor Griffin was honored with the University of Minnesota Award for Distinguished Contributions to Post-Baccalaureate Graduate and Professional Education, the CLA Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Award, and the Ruth Christie Distinguished Teaching Award in English. Specializing in 17th and 18th century American literature, Griffin is working on a biography of loyalist Reverend Mather Byles and an edited collection of the letters of Byles' daughters, who died in Boston in 1835 and 1837, still loyal to the British crown.

Beverly Atkinson (MA 1971), Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies in English and academic adviser, retired in May; she advised undergraduate students in English since 1973. Atkinson won the CLA P/A Academic Staff Award and the Outstanding Advisor Award from the National Academic Advising Association. She helped to form the Academic Advising Network at the University in the mid-'80s. She has published widely on advising and teaching. In her last spring at the U, she spearheaded the successful creation of the First Annual English Undergraduate Conference.

Faculty Promotions

| No Comments

Congratulations to the following faculty members, who received promotions effective July 1.

Assistant Professor to Associate Professor
Keith Mayes, AAAS
Kieran McNulty, Anthropology
David Valentine, Anthropology
Jenny Schmid, Art
Andrea Stanislav, Art
Diane Willow, Art
Shaden Tageldin, CSCL
Omise'eke Natasha Tinsley, English
Joseph Johannes Arun Saldanha, Geography
Giancarlo Casale, History
David Chang, History
Tracey Deutsch, History
Sarah-Jane Mathieu, History
Helena Pohlandt-McCormick, History
Gabriela Ilnitchi Currie, Music
Roy Cook, Philosophy
Teresa Toguchi Swartz, Sociology
Eric Grodsky, Sociology

Associate Professor to Professor
Jennifer Pierce, American Studies
Josephine D. Lee, English
Monika Zagar, GSD
Jean O'Brien-Kehoe, History
Barbara Welke, History
David Damschroder, Music
David Samuels, Political Science
Monica Luciana, Psychology
Andrew Oxenham, Psychology
Elizabeth Boyle, Sociology
Fernando Arenas, Spanish and Portuguese Studies
Kathryn Kohnert, SLHS