myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

Accolades April 21, 2011

| No Comments

It's awards season! Ananya Chatterjea has a Guggenheim, Gary Cohen is now a member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, and many, many more for faculty, grad students, and undergraduates.

Associate Professor Ananya Chatterjea (Dance) is one of 180 artists, scientists, and scholars to receive a 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship. The winners were selected based on their prior achievements and promise for future success. More than 3,000 people applied. Ananya's award is in the choreography category and with her award she will launch a quartet of evening-length pieces exploring how women in global communities of color experience and resist violence.

Professor Gary Cohen (History) has been named a corresponding member of the Oesterreichesche Akademie der Wissenschaften, aka Austrian Academy of Sciences, Historical-Philosophical Section. As a learned society, the Academy contributes decisively to assuring a highly competitive Austrian research, advising decision-makers in politics, business, and society on science-related issues while informing the interested public about major scientific discoveries. The Academy's members support this process by making their broad range of expertise available for the Academy's activities. More information about the Academy is online, although the list of new corresponding members is not yet posted.

Professor James Dillon (Music) has been short-listed for the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards, which honor works that received their UK debut in 2010. He is nominated in the Large-Scale Composition category (for 16 players or more) for his piece "Nine Rivers." Winners are announced at a dinner on May 10 in London.

The following CLA graduate students are recipients of COGS travel grants:
Charlotte Karem Albrecht (Feminist Studies)
Myrl Beam (American Studies)
Kelly Condit-Shrestha (History)
Stephen Dillon (American Studies)
Allison Prasch (Communication Studies/Rhetoric)
Sara Saljoughi (Comparative Studies in Discourse and Society)
Shannon Stevens (Communication Studies)
Ryan Thompson (Musicology)
Jesse Wozniak (Sociology)

The following CLA graduate students have been elected as COGS officers and senators:
Melody Hoffmann (Communication Studies), executive vice president
Gabriel Shapiro (Comparative Lit), vice president of internal relations
Adam Dahl (Political Science), vice president of communications
Kimi Johnson (Theatre Arts), GEC chair
Lauren Deland (Art History), senator
Emily Durham-Shapiro (Asian literature), senator
Sara Nelson (Geography), senator
Kathleen Vandevoorde (History), senator

The Josie R. Johnson Human Rights and Social Justice Award student recipient is Mustafa Jumale. Mustafa is an undergraduate honors student in CLA, majoring in sociology and African American and African Studies.

2011 U of M Alumni Association Student Leadership Award Recipients are Bridget Rathsack and Whitney Weber. They receive $500 scholarships in recognition of their academic achievement, personal character, leadership qualities and contributions to the University of Minnesota.

Leave a comment