myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

Accolades April 26, 2012

| No Comments

Professor David Samuels (Political Science) has been named a Distinguished McKnight Professor. The goal of this program is to recognize and reward the University of Minnesota's most outstanding mid-career faculty. Recipients hold the title for as long as they remain at the university. The grant associated with the professorship consists of $100,000 to be expended over five years. Read more

Lecturer Stephen Smith (Classical and Near Eastern Studies), Professor Valerie Tiberius (Philosophy), and Professor Rob Warren (Sociology) are CLA's winners of the 2012 COGS Outstanding Faculty Award. The COGS Outstanding Faculty Award was established in 2010 and is the only award where graduate students nominate faculty they feel have gone above and beyond in their work with graduate students, and a panel of students selects the winners. A reception to recognize the winners will be on May 8th at 4:30 p.m. in the Mississippi Room in Coffman Union.

Associate Professor and Chair Carl Flink (Theatre Arts & Dance) has received the City Pages Best Choreographer recognition in their "Best of the Twin Cities" issue.

Elaine Tarone (Professor of Second Language Studies, Director of CARLA) will be the new Associate Editor for Perspectives at The Modern Language Journal.

Associate Professor Giancarlo Casale (History) has received a year-long residential fellowship from the Harvard Center for Italian Renaissance Studies in Florence.

Associate Professor Ronald Krebs (Political Science) received a Fulbright Award from the United States-Israel Educational Foundation.

Associate Professor Sarah Chambers (History) received an NEH Faculty Fellowship for 2012-13.

Director Barbara Frey (Human Rights Program) received a Fulbright-Robles award to carry out teaching and research in Mexico from January to May 2013. She will be teaching a seminar on Human Rights Advocacy at FLACSO-Mexico (Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales/ Latin American Academy of Social Sciences) in Mexico City. She will also conduct research on the roles and perceptions of civil society organizations regarding human rights protection in the context of major criminal justice reforms.

Associate Professor and Chair Louis Mendoza's (Chicano Studies) book Conversations Across Our America: Talking About Immigration and the Latinoization of the United States (University of Texas) will be published in June. You may recall that Louis undertook a 8,500-mile bike ride around the perimeter of the U.S. in 2007, and this book is a collection of the conversations about the Latinoization of the U.S. he had with people along the way. Read more

MFA candidate Kate Johnston (Creative Writing) is the recipient of the Scribes for Human Rights Fellowship for 2012, a ten-week fellowship with the Human Rights Program. Kate's project concerns Somali refugees in the Twin Cities and solitary confinement in Minnesota prisons.

PhD candidate David Moberly (English) has accepted a Critical Language Scholarship from the U.S. Department of State and will be traveling to Tangier, Morocco, to study Arabic in an intensive summer program.

PhD candidate John Pistelli (English) has been offered a place at the NEH "Oscar Wilde and His Circle" summer seminar at UCLA, an award that comes with a $3,900 NEH fellowship. Of the 16 Summer Scholars, only two are graduate students; the rest are faculty.

PhD candidate Katie Robison (English) published the young adult novel Downburst with Quil Press, Inc., first in the Windstorm Series. She is working toward a PhD in medieval and early modern literature. She was interviewed about the book by the Minnesota Daily.

MFA candidates Elizabeth Abbott, David Malley, and Andrea Uptmor (all Creative Writing) received 2012 Minnesota State Arts Board grants to support their creative work.

MFA candidate Feng Sun Chen (Creative Writing) published her first poetry collection, Butcher's Tree, with Black Ocean this spring.

PhD student Amanda Bryan (Political Science) has received a three-year NSF graduate student fellowship.

The interdisciplinary graduate minor in Literacy and Rhetorical Studies (LRS), housed in the Center for Writing, presented awards to two current graduate students enrolled in the LRS minor:

The 2012 LRS Dissertation Summer Fellowship was awarded to Heidi Jones (Curriculum & Instruction) to support her work on Cosmopolitanism and the Canon: What It Means to be a White Working-Class Teacher.
The 2011-12 LRS Graduate Student Travel Grant was awarded Susana Perez Castillejo (Spanish and Portuguese) to support her presentation of "Exploring the Wiki-Mediated Learning Process: Collaboration in a Second Language Writing Class" at the 4th International Conference of Education, Research and Innovations.

Two CLA undergraduates are winners of the Josie R. Johnson Award in Human Rights and Social Justice. Lolla Nur Mohammed (Political Science and Journalism) won the student award and Yodit Tesfaye (Global Studies) has won the public engagement award.

Lolla is an honors student graduating magna cum laude this spring in political science and journalism, with a minor in African American and African studies. She plans to pursue a Ph.D. in political science with a focus on comparative politics and Islamic Studies.
Yodit is a senior majoring in global studies and minoring in Spanish with a Human Rights, Social Justice and International Development emphasis.

Leave a comment