myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

Accolades January 24, 2013

| No Comments

Professor Joachim Savelsberg (sociology) was honored with the 2012 Freda Adler Distinguished Scholar Award by the American Society of Criminology's International Division. The award recognizes "an international scholar who has made a significant contribution to international criminology, including international criminal justice, comparative, and transnational crime and justice research."

Associate Professor Ronald Walter Greene (communication studies) was awarded the Distinguished Scholar Award from the Critical Cultural Studies Division of the National Communication Association.

Associate Professor Diane Willow (art) is one of a handful of Twin Cities artists who are part of the Creative CityMaking initiative of the City of Minneapolis and Intermedia Arts. Four artist teams will be paired with five planning projects in the city's Community Planning and Economic Development Department to, "engage artists in critical thinking and art making around City and urban issues and to increase artists' and planners' ability to facilitate community interaction and work collaboratively with the public to foster positive change in the quality and trajectory of social discourse about the city's urban future." Diane's project will focus on the development of five stations along the proposed Southwest LRT line. Learn more

Institute for Advanced Study Faculty Fellows 2013-14:
Assistant Professor Clint Carroll, Department of American Indian Studies
Associate Professor Bianet Castellanos, Department of American Studies
Associate Professor Karen Ho, Department of Anthropology
Professor Patricia Lorcin, Department of History
Assistant Professor Lorena Munoz, Department of Geography
Assistant Professor Jimmy Patino, Department of Chicano and Latino Studies
Assistant Professor Matthew Rahaim, School of Music
Learn more

Leave a comment