myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

Accolades April 25, 2013

| No Comments

Regents Professor Elaine Tyler May has received a Guggenheim fellowship. It will support her book project "The American Quest for Security, 1960 to the present." Read more

Regents Professor Patricia Hampl (English) will deliver the commencement address and receive an honorary degree from St. Bonaventure University (St. Bonaventure, NY) on May 12.

Associate Professor George Sheets (classical and Near Eastern studies) has received a President's Award for Outstanding Service. The award recognizes exceptional service to the University, its schools, colleges, departments, and service units.

Four CLA faculty members have received 2013 Council of Graduate Students (COGS) Outstanding Faculty Awards:

Assistant Professor Jane Gingrich (political science)
Associate Professor Eden Torres (gender, women and sexuality studies)
Associate Professor Marco Yzer (journalism and mass communication)
Associate Professor Hui Zou (statistics)

Associate Professor Shaden M. Tageldin (cultural studies and comparative literature) has received the honorable mention for the 2013 Harry Levin Prize, awarded by the American Comparative Literature Association (ACLA), for her book Disarming Words: Empire and the Seductions of Translation in Egypt (University of California Press, 2011). The 2013 Levin Prize distinguishes the best first book in comparative literature published in 2010-2012. The prize committee was "notably excited about the book's theoretical considerations of translation using the paradigm of seduction, as well as the brilliant case studies, with their sophisticated movements among works, languages, and cultures."

Associate Professor Howard Lavine's (political science) book The Ambivalent Partisan (Oxford University Press, 2012), won the David O. Sears Award from the International Society of Political Psychology for the best book on the political psychology of mass behavior. The award will be presented at the annual meetings of ISPP at Herzliya, Israel, in July.

Associate Professor Scott Lipscomb (music) received a $3,000 grant from the Twin Cities Opera Guild to support the 4th Grade Opera program at Folwell School, an urban, K-8 fine arts magnet in south Minneapolis. A portion of these funds was used to take more than 100 students to the Ordway to see the Minnesota Opera's production of Puccini's Turandot (an excellent first opera -ed.). This experience, and others, prepared the students for creating their own opera based on the life of Nelson Mandela. A dozen U of M students (mostly music education majors) will be involved in this innovative application of music to support learning in the arts and in other academic areas.

Associate Professor Rob Silberman (art history) curated the exhibition Elemental, on view at Northern Clay Center through May 12. It features the work of four artists, each addressing one of the four classical elements (air, earth, fire, water).

Assistant Professor Giovanna Dell'Orto (journalism and mass communication) will speak at the National Press Club on April 29. She will discuss her new book, American Journalism and International Relations: Foreign Correspondence from the Early Republic to the Digital Era, which sheds new light on the debate over the importance of foreign news to America's international relations. Her analysis of 20 international events from 1848 to 2008 shows that professional foreign correspondence has helped shape the way most Americans think about the world and their role in it.

Professor Ray Gonzalez (English) has poems in the recent issues of Puerto del Sol and Barrow Street. His poetry is included in The Ecopoetry Anthology and in the summer issue of American Poetry Review.

Professor Charles Baxter's (English) story "Bravery," originally published in Tin House, will appear in the 2013 volume of The Best American Short Stories, published by Houghton Mifflin. Also, Charlie will be judging the next National Book Awards.

Regents Professor Madelon Sprengnether (English) published the article "Freud as Memoirist: A Reading of 'Screen Memories' " in American Imago: Psychoanalysis and the Human Sciences and has a review of Are You My Mother: A Comic Drama, by Alison Bechdel, in the forthcoming International Journal of Psychoanalysis.

Graduate student Rahsaan Mahadeo (sociology) has received a three-year Ford Foundation fellowship.

Graduate student Ryan Cartwright (American studies) has been named an ACLS Faculty Fellow for 2013-15. He has been appointed in the American studies program at University of California, Davis.

Graduate students Adam Dahl (political science) and Sara Saljoughi (cultural studies and comparative literature) have received Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowships for 2013-14.

These graduate students have received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program awards:

Anna Hardin (anthropology)
Heidi Keiser (psychology)
Robert Stewart (sociology)
Brenton Wiernik (psychology)

These graduate students received Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowships from the Graduate Student Services and Progress Office:

Akshya Saxena (cultural studies and comparative literature) for research at Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change
Emily Fedoruk (cultural studies and comparative literature) for research at Institute for Advanced Study (IAS)
Katherine Robison (English) for research at Center for Early Modern History
Anais Nony (French) for research at IAS
Francois-Nicolas Vozel (French) for research at IAS
Demetri Debe (history) for research at IAS
Lars Christensen (music) for research at IAS
Philip Chen (political science) for research at Center for the Study of Political Psychology
Alain Vandormael (sociology) for research at Center for Infectious Diseases & Microbiology Translation Research

Undergraduate Katrina Klett (Asian languages and literatures) has been named a Truman Scholar and a Udall Scholar.

Undergraduate Marissa Kramer (political science) has been named a Udall Scholar.

The U of M Debate Team, coached by David Cram Helwich (communication studies) just wrapped up their most successful season yet. Both teams (Cody Crunkilton & Miranda Ehrlich / Rohan Sadagopal & Courtney Schauer) won eight of their five preliminary debates at the National Debate Tournament and advanced to the elimination rounds, where they were eventually knocked out by teams from Wake Forest and Harvard. This is the first time that any Gopher debate team has advanced at this tournament since the 1981. The U was one of only eight universities (Emory Harvard, Michigan, Minnesota, North Texas, Northwestern, Oklahoma, Wake Forest) to advance two teams.

Leave a comment