myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

Accolades September 5, 2013

| No Comments

Associate Professor Mary Kennedy and Professor Benjamin Munson (both speech-language-hearing sciences) have been named fellows of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. ASHA is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 166,000 members and affiliates who are audiologists; speech-language pathologists; speech, language, and hearing scientists; audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel; and students. Fellowship is one of their highest awards, given to members who have made outstanding contributions to the field.

Professor Rose Brewer (African American and African studies) has received the American Sociological Association Distinguished Contribution to Teaching Sociology Award. This is one of only nine major ASA awards given annually.

Associate Professor Michael Goldman (sociology) and Associate Professor Kelley Harness (music) have been awarded the College of Liberal Arts 2012-2013 Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Awards. The award acknowledges faculty who inspire and care, who make themselves approachable, who show an interest in individual students' well-being and in programs for the benefit of students generally, who give of themselves generously in advising, counseling, and directing projects, and who create an active classroom atmosphere.

Associate Professor Jennifer Marshall's (art history) book, Machine Art, 1934 (University of Chicago Press) was awarded the Robert Motherwell Book Award from the Dedalus Foundation.

Assistant Professor Seth Lewis' (journalism and mass communication) article, "The tensions between professional control and open participation: journalism and its boundaries," was named the Outstanding Journal Article of the Year (2012) in Journalism Studies.

Professor Andrew Elfenbein (English) won an American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship for 2013-14. His project, "The Gist of Reading," will provide scholars with models and vocabulary for describing the reading strategies and mental processes of 19th-century readers.

These CLA faculty received Spring 2013 Grant-in-Aid awards.

Joseph Allen (Asian languages & literatures): Archival Research in Taiwan and China: Chinese Middle School Textbooks
Carol Berkenkotter (writing studies): Symptoms in Search of a Concept in a Victorian Asylum
Bruce Braun (geography): Fractured Life: Oil, Technology and Labor on the Northern Great Plains
Andrew Elfenbein (English): Adult Comprehension of Literary Perspective
David Karjanen (American studies): Street Finance and Fringe Banking in Los Angeles: An Ethnographic and Behavioral Economics Analysis
Diane Katsiaficas (art): Digital Drawing
David Pellow (sociology): Mobilization and Coalition-Formation at the Minnehaha Free State
Jayanthi Sasisekaran (speech-language-hearing sciences): Effects of altered auditory feedback on speech movements in children and adults who stutter
Shaden Tageldin (cultural studies & comparative literature): Toward a Transcontinental Theory of Modern Comparative Literature
Brendan Watson (journalism and mass communication): The 'Rising Tide' of Citizen Media and Its Implications for the Struggling City
Tetsuya Yamada (art): Lost in Silver

Graduate students Anna Rosensweig (French & Italian), Adam Dahl (political science), Sinan Erensu (sociology), Andrew Hoyt (history), Rahsaan Mahadeo (sociology), and Ann Zimo (history) were awarded Bridging Funds from the Graduate School.

Graduate student Madison Van Oort (sociology) received the Best Graduate Student Paper Award from the Labor and Labor Movements Section, American Sociological Association, and the journal, Critical Sociology. Madison's paper is entitled, "Post-Recession Governmentalities: Neoliberalism, Job Searching, and Comparative Control in Minneapolis."

Recent PhD Ryan Cartwright (American studies) received the Graduate School's Best Dissertation Award in the Arts and Humanities for 2013. His dissertation is titled, "Peculiar Places: A Queer History of Rural Nonconformity."

Recent PhD Zhicheng Lin (psychology/cognitive and brain sciences) received the Graduate School's Best Dissertation Award in the Social Sciences and Education for 2013 for his dissertation "Emergence of human cognition from spatial and temporal structures."

Graduate student Ann Zimo (history) has been awarded the Social Science Research Council's International Dissertation Research Fellowship and the Council of American Overseas Research Centers' Multi-Country Research Fellowship. These will allow her to spend this year abroad completing research for her dissertation on the experience of the Muslim communities under crusader rule.

The following graduate students have received DOVE fellowships.

Zuleika Billington (speech-language-hearing sciences)
Michelle Church (geography)
Avram Munoz (political science)
Mario Obando (American studies)
Elliot Weiner (psychology)
Farrah Yek (political science)

Regents Professor Steve Ruggles (history) is president-elect of the Population Association of America.

Professor Guerino Mazzola (music) is president of the Society for Mathematics and Computation in Music.

Graduate student Zachary Saathoff (music) won the position of concertmaster of the Lubbock (Tex.) Symphony Orchestra. Saathoff, who studied on a Fulbright Scholarship in Austria, 2009-2011, has served as concertmaster of the University Orchestra.

Graduate student Sergey Bogza (music) was named the Heartland Symphony Orchestra music director and conductor. The symphony serves the Little Falls/Brainerd area of central Minnesota.

Undergraduate Chinese language students from Asian Languages and Literatures won a majority of the awards, including eight of 12 first place prizes, in the recent U.S. Midwest Chinese Bridge Speech Contest. Our ALL students usually dominate this competition, but this year they were especially fierce and successful competitors. Our winning students were Emily Atchison, Anthony Dodge, Molly Himsel, Allison Malmsten, Grace Polverar, Joshua Quinn, Alex Renner, and Peter Williams. They were coached by Ling Wang, director of Chinese language, and her colleagues.

Leave a comment