myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

Accolades September 19, 2013

| No Comments

Professor and vice provost and dean of undergraduate education Robert McMaster (geography) was named a fellow of the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science (UCGIS) for contributing to the advancement of geographic information science education and research. In honoring him with this award, UCGIS cited Bob's significant research contributions in automated generalization of geospatial data and phenomena, environmental risk, and GIScience and society, along with his service to the organization.

Associate Professor Catherine Squires (journalism and mass communication) will receive the Mullen-Spector-Truax Women's Leadership Award at the Celebrating University Women event on September 27. The event is sponsored by the Office for Equity and Diversity, Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs, and the Women's Center.

Professor Howard Lavine's (political science) book, The Ambivalent Partisan, was named recipient of the Robert E. Lane Award, given by the Political Psychology Section of the American Political Science Association for the best book in Political Psychology in the past year.

Assistant Professor Rebekah Nagler (journalism and mass communication) has been named a 2013 Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women's Health (BIRCWH) and Masonic Cancer Center Women's Health Scholar. Her project is titled Exposure to Cancer Screening Media Controversy & Its Influence on Underserved Women's Perceptions, Screening Behaviors, & Clinical Interactions.

Assistant Professor Josh Page (sociology) received honorable mention from the American Sociological Association Sociology of Law Section in this year's Outstanding Book competition for his book The Toughest Beat: Politics, Punishment, and the Prison Officers Union in California.

Professor Emerita Barbara Weissberger (Spanish and Portuguese) has been awarded the Luis Andrés Murillo Prize for her article "'Es de Lope': Child Martyrdom in Cervantes's Baños de Argel", published in the journal Cervantes, 32.2, (fall 2012). This prize recognizes the best article published each year in Cervantes.

Professor Daniel Schroeter (history) has accepted the Ina Levine Invitational Scholar Fellowship at the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum for 2014-15. This fellowship cannot be applied for--it is offered by invitation only, and it is a great recognition of both the quality and the broad relevance of Daniel's work.

Adjunct Assistant Professor Catherine Guisan has won a Fulbright Fellowship to Russia. The European University (graduate institute) in St Petersburg is hosting her while she teaches a course on European Integration Politics this semester. She will return to our campus spring 2014 to co-teach a new Honors Challenge Colloquium on Political Reconciliation, Collective Memory, and Justice.

Professors Doug Hartmann and Chris Uggen (sociology) are editors of the new book The Social Side of Politics (W. W. Norton). The book is the first volume of The Society Pages series. Other CLA contributors include professors Enid Logan and Joseph Gerteis (both sociology).

Professor Lydia Artymiw (music) performed Mozart's Piano Concerto K. 488 with the Gwangju (South Korea) Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Chi Yong Chong at the Concert Hall of the Gwangju Cultural Arts Center on August 22. While in Korea, she also gave several master classes at Chonnam University in Gwangju and Chongshin University in Seoul.

Professor Rob Warren's (sociology) project "Collaborative Research: STEM Education Effects on a Diverse Workforce's Development over the Life Cycle," was awarded more than $257,000 by the National Science Foundation.

Associate Professor Yuichiro Onishi (African American & African studies) has published Transpacific Antiracism (New York University Press).

Professor Ron Greene (communication studies) won the National Communication Association's Charles H. Woolbert Award, given to a journal article or book chapter that has stood the test of time and has become a stimulus for new conceptualizations of communication phenomena. It is for Ron's 1998 article "Another Materialist Rhetoric." He is the fourth member in the Department of Communication Studies to win this award, and the first to win it in the last 25 years (Robert Scott won it in '81, Ernest Bormann in '83, and Karlyn Campbell won it in '87). Ours is the only association member department to have won this award more than twice.

Associate Professor Scott D. Lipscomb's (music) co-edited book The Psychology of Music in Multimedia, was published by Oxford University Press, UK in June. The book will be released in the U.S. this month.

Professor David Grayson's (music) articles appeared in two volumes published in Paris: "L'édition scientifique de Pelléas et Mélisande," in "Pelléas et Mélisande" cent ans après: études et documents (Symétrie), and "Les premiers enregistrements de Pelléas et Mélisande," in Regards sur Debussy (Fayard). He gave lectures on Debussy and Chopin at the Shanghai Conservatory and Shanghai Normal University, and his contributions to the Prismatic Debussy Festival at the Eastman School of Music included leading "A Conversation with P. Craig Russell" for the Comic Book Debussy session.

Professor Allen Issacman (history) has published Dams, Displacement, and the Delusion of Development: Cahora Bassa and its Legacies in Mozambique, 1965-2007 (Ohio University Press).

Graduate student Jennifer Immich (anthropology) has won the Barry Prize for the best graduate paper at the International Congress for Medieval Studies, sponsored by American Society for Irish Medieval Studies (ASIMS). Her interdisciplinary paper is titled, "Three Timber Castles: Modeling Landscape Siting with GIS."

Graduate student Erik Carlson (English) received the Samuel Holt Monk Prize for the Best Article by a Graduate Student, awarded for "The Gothic Vocabulary of Fear," in The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, July 2012.

Graduate student Annemarie Lawless (English) received the Ruth Drake Dissertation Fellowship for Fall 2013.

These graduate students have received CLA Graduate Fellowships

David Andrews (English)
Kendra Atleework (creative writing)
Amy August (sociology)
Dana D'Amico (creative writing)
Camila Dodik (Asian languages and literatures)
Shannon Flaherty (art history)
John Fleischer (art)
Beverly Fok (political science)
Misha Hadar (theatre arts and dance)
Milic Milica (anthropology)
Kele Missal (anthropology)
Sara Parhizgari (philosophy)
John Vishneski (music)

Leave a comment