myU OneStop

College of Liberal Arts E-News: Biweekly news from the College of Liberal Arts

Accolades April 3, 2014

| No Comments

Professor Thomas Rose (art) has received a $300,000 grant from the Henry Luce Foundation for the project Mapping Transitions through the Vehicle of the Arts. The project brings together faculty from CLA who have expertise in Chinese art with experts at Carleton, St. Olaf, St. Thomas, Macalester, College of St. Benedict/St. John's University, and the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. With partners in China, these institutions will solidify and expand connections and collaborations in the field of Chinese arts. Look for more exchanges of artists and students between China and Minnesota over the next three years.

Professor Jan Estep (art) has been named Beverly and Richard Fink Professor in Liberal Arts for 2014-17. Over the next few years she will focus on her ongoing Thinking Portraits project, for which she shadowed a team of cognitive neuroscientists using fMRI imagery to study how the brain processes language. And a related interest is the relationship of spirituality and mindfulness to contemporary art, following up her Are you there, Guanyin? installation at the MIA and other recent works.

Professor Ana Paula Ferreira (Spanish & Portuguese studies) has been named Samuel Russell Chair in the Humanities.

Professor Joanie Smith (theatre arts and dance) has been awarded the John Black Johnston Distinguished Professorship. Her dance company, Shapiro & Smith Dance, will open her new work, "NARCISSUS," at the Cowles Center for Dance April 17-19.

Japanese Director of Language Instruction Michiko Buchanan's (Asian languages and literatures) students were all prize winners at the 28th Annual Japanese Language Speech Contest held at the Consulate General of Japan in Chicago on March 22. Yiqing Ma won fourth prize, Jue Sun won the Bonjinsha Award, and Phillip Yocca Bachman won the grand prize.

Professors Wayne Potratz and Jan Estep (both art) are featured in segments on the next Minnesota Original, set to start airing this Sunday, April 6, at 6:00 p.m. on TPT.

Professor James Dillon (music) was guest composer at Stanford University in February, giving a masterclass and teaching composition. In addition, his work was performed that month in New York (Talea Ensemble), Seattle (Séverine Ballone), Chicago (Fonema Consort) and San Francisco (San Francisco New Music Players). In addition to his residency at the 2014 Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival in the UK, he will be the composer-in-residence at Oberlin Conservatory in December 2014.

Assistant Professor Adriana Zabala (music) is currently performing the role of Sesto Pompeo in Handel's Giulio Cesare with the Florentine Opera Company in Milwaukee. The Journal Sentinel said of her performance, "Mezzo-soprano Adriana Zabala gave a strikingly believable performance in the 'pants' role of Sextus. She blended vocal clarity, a youthful emotional directness and a light-footed stage presence to create a highly sympathetic character." In February she performed the role of Cherubino in Le Nozze di Figaro with the Jacksonville Symphony.

Professor Becky Shockley (music) has been nominated to receive a Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Colorado at Boulder, where she received her DMA. She will receive the award during the May 7 commencement ceremonies at CU-Boulder. She also gave a presentation on Mapping Music at the Texas Music Educators Association State Convention in San Antonio in February.

Graduate student Tammy Owens (American studies) has been awarded a two-year pre-doctoral fellowship from the Carter G. Woodson Institute for African-American and African Studies at the University of Virginia.

Several graduate students from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication took home awards at the 2014 American Academy of Advertising (AAA) Conference.

Taemin Kim and Okhyun Kim won Best Student Paper award with their paper "Effects of Ironic Advertising on Consumers' Attention, Involvement and Attitude." This award is given to the single best paper written only by students. Minnesota graduate students have swept this award three years in a row since this award was created in 2012.
Heewon Im won the AAA Doctoral Dissertation Award with her dissertation proposal "Effects of Direct-to-Consumer Prescription Drug Advertising on Patients' Medication Regimen Adherence."
Soojung Kim won a Graduate Student Conference Travel Grant and presented three solo-authored and co-authored papers.
Jennifer Lueck, Xiaoyan Liu, and Yun Peng presented a research paper which was produced from their class team project (other co-authors include Ben Miller and Sarah Cavanah).
And finally, Associate Professor Jisu Huh won AAA Research Fellowship Award with her co-authored research proposal "Influence of Endorser Testimonials in Print Direct-to-Consumer Prescription Drug Advertising."

Graduate student Meagan Tripp (German, Scandinavian & Dutch) has been awarded a DAAD grant for the 2014-15 academic year to conduct research on her dissertation, "Dance on the Page, Poetry on Stage: Intersections between Modernist German Poetry and Dance."

Leave a comment