CLA's Dean's Medalist, Scholars of the College to be honored

John Freeman, professor in the Department of Political Science, has been named as the College of Liberal Art's Dean's Medalist for 2009, and C. Kenneth Waters, professor in the Department of Philosophy, and Sonja Kuftinec, associate professor in the Department of Theatre Arts and Dance, have been named Scholars of the College for 2009-12.

A program and reception to honor the award recipients will be held at 3:00 p.m., Wednesday, February 11, in the Humphrey Center's Cowles Auditorium, 301 19th Ave. S., Minneapolis. The event will provide an opportunity for colleagues from across the college to come together to celebrate the honorees' work and the collective accomplishments of CLA faculty.

Freeman was chosen as the Dean's Medalist because of his demonstrated excellence in scholarship. Previous recipients have been Professors Sara Evans, Lydia Artymiw, Elaine Tyler May, Marcia Eaton, Gordon Legge, Jeylan Mortimer, Clarence Morgan, R. Dennis Cook, David Wilkins, and Paula Rabinowitz.

The Scholar of the College is being awarded to Waters and Kuftenic because of the high esteem in which they are held by their faculty colleagues throughout the CLA. The award provides funding from alumni donations to support faculty research for a three-year period.


Monthly Archives


Powered by Movable Type 4.31-en

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by cla published on February 10, 2009 9:23 AM.

Chicano Studies opens exhibit at Wilson Library was the previous entry in this blog.

Electronica catches fire at the Spark Festival is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.