April 2012 Archives

2012 Travel Award Winners!

| No Comments

We're pleased to announce the winners of the 2011-12 COGS Travel Awards!

  • Batra, Lalit K. - Geography

  • Beek, Anna - CNES

  • Beek, Aaron - CNES

  • Blasen, Kristina - OLPD

  • Bobowski, Nuala - Food Science

  • Carriere, Damien - Geography

  • David, Aaron - Ecology, Evolution and Behavior

  • Gangar, Amit C. - Medicinal Chemistry

  • Hindman, Matthew - Political Science

  • Jirik, Katrina - History of Science, Technology and Medicine

  • Johnson, Lisa Ann - C&I

  • Kindervater, Garnet - Political Science

  • Kindervater, Katharine - Geography

  • Knott, Sarah - Music

  • Lucas, Kevin - Political Science

  • Markle, Tricia - Conservation Biology

  • Mmila, Pabalelo G. - Theatre Arts and Dance

  • Niu, Dawen - Chemistry

  • Oleksiak, Timothy - Writing Studies/Rhetoric and Scientificic and Technical Comm.

  • Scott, Laura L. - Environmental Health Sciences

  • Sedzielarz, Aleksander - Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature

  • Silisyene, Majory K - Natural Resource Science and Management

  • Tiffe, Raechel - Communication Studies

  • Vann Sprecher, Tiffany D. - History

We received a lot of very impressive applications this year and the committee had their work cut out for them choosing the winners. Congratulations to everyone who received an award!

Information below from the GLBTA programs office...

16th Annual Lavender Celebration & Awards Ceremony
Monday, April 30, 5:00-7:00 PM
Coffman Memorial Union
Whole Music Club (basement level)
300 Washington Ave, Mpls 55455

Lavender Celebration

Please join us as we celebrate our "Sweet 16th" annual Lavender Celebration & Awards Ceremony -- one of the longest-running Lavender events in the nation -- where we will be honoring the personal and collective accomplishments of our gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer and ally communities at the University of Minnesota!

This year's Lavender Celebration aims to be fun and fierce -- we hope you show up expressing yourself in whatever awards show attire feels fabulous to you! Everyone is welcome!

Here's some of what you can expect at Lavender Celebration on Monday evening:

Red Carpet Awards Show theme!
Opening musical number!
Drag queens at the door!
A photo booth to capture memories!
Delicious free appetizers and finger foods!
Fantastic student speakers!
A shout-out from Senator Al Franken!
Presentation of awards and scholarships to students, employees and community members who have created change and achieved academic excellence this year!
Recognition of our GLBTQ and allied graduating students!
Socializing with fabulous folks!
A super special announcement + more!

Call to Graduating Students: If you have or will be graduating at any time during the summer, fall or spring semesters and would like to be honored at Lavender Celebration (and receive a commemorative plaque and rainbow tassel), please contact us at glbtapo@umn.edu as soon as possible with your preferred name, your name pronunciation, and the exact title of your degree. Thank you!

Directions & Construction: Please be aware of the ongoing construction on Washington Ave in front of Coffman Union. If you are driving to campus, we recommend parking in the East River Road Garage behind Coffman Union, and accessing the garage via East River Road. There is an outside entrance to Coffman Union on Delaware St (which runs behind the building) that leads directly to the Whole Music Club. For more information and links to maps, please visit: http://sua.umn.edu/about/directions/coffman.php.

For updated information on all our programs and events, please visit our website:

Thank you!

To contact the GLBTA Programs Office, please call 612-625-0537, email us, or visit our website.

Outstanding Faculty Award 2012 WINNERS!

| 1 Comment

We're excited to announce the winners of the 2012 COGS Outstanding faculty Award!

The COGS Outstanding Faculty Award was established in 2010 and is the only award where students nominate faculty and a panel of students review the nominations and choose the winners. This year's faculty who have gone above and beyond in their work with graduate students are:

Adrian D. Hegeman, CBS/CFANS
Frank J. Symons, CEHD
Chris H. Kim, CSE
Deborah Levison, Humphrey
Mark A. Pereira, SPH
Ruth G. Shaw, CBS
Stephen Smith, CLA
Valerie Tiberius, CLA
John Robert Warren, CLA
Carl Elliott, Med. School

Congratulations winners!

Contribute to Mental Health Day 2012

| No Comments

Message below on behalf of the organizers of Mental Health Day 2012.

Make a difference - SHARE YOUR STORY

Have you, or someone close, had an experience involving mental health? Please share your story with us in whatever way you feel comfortable: written word, video, or poster - paper or web.

We are a coalition of student groups planning Mental Health Awareness Day 2012 on the U of M campus. We're asking U of M students, their friends, and families to help make this day as powerful as possible by sharing your experiences with us, so that we can share them on MHAD and afterwards.

These stories, *which can be completely anonymous*, may describe your own experience with mental health, illness, or suicide, or how a loved one's experience affected you, positively and negatively.

For more information (and to volunteer on April 25th), please find us on our Facebook page (http://on.fb.me/MHAD2012) and submit a story today!

About this Archive

This page is an archive of entries from April 2012 listed from newest to oldest.

March 2012 is the previous archive.

May 2012 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.