Go to HHH home page.
Smart Politics

Obama Wins Washington State Caucuses

Bookmark and Share

8:06 p.m. Barack Obama's dominance over Hillary Clinton in caucus states continues with his second victory of the day, this time in the state of Washington. CNN, NBC, and Fox News have all projected Obama the winner.

Democratic Caucuses (57% reporting)
Obama = 67%
Clinton = 32%

This is Obama's 17th win of the campaign, compared to just 10 states for Clinton (with New Mexico pending).

As Smart Politics predicted in an eariler entry this morning, Obama is poised to win nearly all of the 10 caucuses and primaries on the Democratic calendar prior to March 4th, when several hundred delegates are awarded in Ohio, Texas, Vermont, and Rhode Island.

8:28 p.m. Democratic Caucuses (71% reporting)
Obama = 67%
Clinton = 32%
Uncommitted = 1%

8:38 p.m. Democratic Caucuses (79% reporting)
Obama = 67%
Clinton = 32%
Uncommitted = 1%

10:35 p.m. Democratic Caucuses (96% reporting)
Obama = 68%
Clinton = 31%
Uncommitted = 1%

Previous post: Obama Wins Nebraska Caucuses
Next post: Live Blog: Washington State GOP Caucus

Leave a comment

Remains of the Data

Kevin McCarthy Becomes Least Tenured Floor Leader in US House History

At less than four terms, McCarthy has served 423 fewer days in the chamber than any floor leader in U.S. House history and almost 10 years less than the average leader.

Political Crumbs

The Second Time Around

Former Republican Congressman Bob Beauprez became the seventh major party or second place gubernatorial candidate in Colorado to get a second chance at the office when he narrowly won his party's nomination last month. Two of the previous six candidates were successful. Democrat Alva Adams lost his first gubernatorial bid to Benjamin Eaton in 1884, but was victorious two years later against William Meyer. Democrat Charles Johnson placed third in 1894 behind Republican Albert McIntyre and Populist incumbent Governor David Waite but returned as the Fusion (Democrat/Populist) nominee in 1898 and defeated GOPer Henry Wolcott. Gubernatorial candidates who received a second chance but lost both general elections include Democrat Thomas Patterson (1888, 1914), Progressive Edward Costigan (1912, 1914), Republican Donald Brotzman (1954, 1956), and Republican David Strickland (1978, 1986).

How Are the Plurality Winners Doing?

Nearly 40 percent of plurality winners of U.S. Senate elections lose their seat in the next election cycle. Will that happen to any of the three such incumbents on the ballot in 2014? Recent polling suggests Democrats Al Franken of Minnesota, Mark Begich of Alaska, and Jeff Merkley of Oregon all currently have an advantage over their nominated/frontrunning GOP opponents, but each is flirting with plurality support once again. Franken led endorsed GOPer Mike McFadden 48 to 42 percent in a new SurveyUSA poll while the polling group showed Merkley with a 50 to 32 percent advantage over Monica Wehby. Begich led each of the three major GOP candidates in last month's PPP survey: 42 to 37 percent over Daniel Sullivan, 41 to 33 percent over Mead Treadwell, and 43 to 27 percent over Joe Miller.


Humphrey School Sites
Humphrey New Media Hub

Issues />

<div id=
Budget and taxes
Campaign finances
Crime and punishment
Economy and jobs
Foreign affairs
Race and ethnicity
Third parties