Go to HHH home page.
Smart Politics

Tennessee Primary Live Blog

Bookmark and Share

2:51 p.m. Last polls close in Tennessee at 7:00 p.m. CST. The Democrats will allocate 68 of its 85 convention delegates based on the primary vote: 44 delegates are allocated proportionately to presidential candidates, while on March 8th, 24 delegates are allocated to presidential candidates based on the statewide vote.

Republicans will allocate 39 of its 55 convention delegates today, 27 as Congressional-district delegates and 12 as statewide delegates. If a presidential candidate gets two-thirds of the vote statewide and two-thirds of the vote in all congressional districts, that candidate will get all the state's delegates. If no candidate gets two-thirds of the vote, delegates are distributed proportionally.

7:00 p.m. Fox News projects Clinton the winner in Tennessee.

8:43 p.m. Republican (35% reporting)
McCain = 33%
Huckabee = 33%
Romney = 22%
Paul = 6%
Thompson = 5%
Giuliani = 1%

Tennessee looks like another Southern state in which Huckabee is meeting or exceeding expectations.

9:24 p.m. Republican (68% reporting)
Huckabee = 34%
McCain = 32%
Romney = 23%
Paul = 6%
Thompson = 4%
Giuliani = 1%

12:38 a.m. The final numbers from Tennessee:
Democratic (100% reporting)
Obama = 54%
Clinton = 41%
Edwards = 4%
Uncommitted = 1%

Republican (100% reporting)
Huckabee = 34%
McCain = 32%
Romney = 24%
Paul = 6%
Thompson = 3%
Giuliani = 1%

Previous post: Utah Primary Live Blog
Next post: Oklahoma Primary Live Blog

Leave a comment

Remains of the Data

Who Has Won the Most Votes in US Senate Electoral History?

Only three of the Top 10 and nine of the Top 50 vote-getters of all time are currently serving in the chamber.

Political Crumbs

Six for Thirteen

Collin Peterson remarked last month that he is leaning to run for reelection to Minnesota's 7th Congressional District in 2016. If he does and is victorious, he will creep even closer to the top of the list of the longest-serving U.S. Representatives in Minnesota history. The DFL congressman is only the sixth Minnesotan to win at least 13 terms to the U.S. House of the 135 elected to the chamber in state history. Peterson trails 18-term DFLer Jim Oberstar (1975-2011), 16-term Republicans Harold Knutson (1917-1949) and August Andresen (1925-1933; 1935-1958), and 14-term DFLers Martin Sabo (1979-2007) and John Blatnik (1947-1974). Andresen died in office, Sabo and Blatnik retired, and Knutson and Oberstar were defeated at the ballot box in 1948 and 2010 respectively. At 70 years, 7 months, 11 days through Monday, Peterson is currently the ninth oldest Gopher State U.S. Representative in history. DFLer Rick Nolan of the 8th CD is the seventh oldest at 71 years, 1 month, 23 days.

Seeing Red

Congressman Nick Rahall's failed bid for a 20th term in West Virginia this cycle, combined with a narrow loss by Nick Casey to Alex Mooney in Shelley Moore Capito's open seat, means that West Virginia Democrats will be shut out of the state's U.S. House delegation for the first time in over 90 years. The Republican sweep by two-term incumbent David McKinley in the 1st CD, Mooney in the 2nd, and Evan Jenkins over Rahall in the 3rd marks the first time the GOP has held all seats in the chamber from West Virginia since the Election of 1920. During the 67th Congress (1921-1923) all six seats from the state were controlled by the GOP. Since the Election of 1922, Democrats have won 76 percent of all U.S. House elections in the Mountain State - capturing 172 seats compared to 54 for the GOP.


Humphrey School Sites
Humphrey New Media Hub

Issues />

<div id=
Budget and taxes
Campaign finances
Crime and punishment
Economy and jobs
Foreign affairs
Race and ethnicity
Third parties