Go to HHH home page.
Smart Politics

Live Blog: Rhode Island Primary

Bookmark and Share

8:00 p.m. NBC News, Fox News, and CNN have all called the GOP race in Rhode Island for John McCain and NBC News characterizes the Democratic race as "too close to call." John McCain has now officially become the Republican nominee, with 1,205 delegates, according to NBC News, Fox News, and CNN.

8:17 p.m. McCain has now won 20 states, compared to 11 for Mitt Romney and 8 for Mike Huckabee.

8:18 p.m. Democratic (4% reporting)
Clinton = 50%
Obama = 49%

8:18 p.m. Republican (3% reporting)
McCain = 63%
Huckabee = 24%
Paul = 8%

8:23 p.m. NBC News and Fox News project Hillary Clinton has won the Rhode Island primary, ending a double-digit streak of consecutive victories for Barack Obama. Rhode Island marks the 12th state in Clinton's column, plus American Samoa.

8:33 p.m. Fox News is reporting President George W. Bush will endorse John McCain on Wednesday.

8:36 p.m. CNN also now projects Clinton the winner of the Rhode Island primary.

8:48 p.m. Democratic (13% reporting)
Clinton = 57%
Obama = 42%

8:48 p.m. Republican (13% reporting)
McCain = 63%
Huckabee = 22%
Paul = 8%

9:01 p.m. Democratic (38% reporting)
Clinton = 61%
Obama = 38%

9:01 p.m. Republican (38% reporting)
McCain = 64%
Huckabee = 22%
Paul = 7%

9:15 p.m. Democratic (49% reporting)
Clinton = 61%
Obama = 38%

9:15 p.m. Republican (49% reporting)
McCain = 64%
Huckabee = 23%
Paul = 7%

9:48 p.m. Democratic (87% reporting)
Clinton = 59%
Obama = 40%

Clinton's victory in Rhode Island appears to be much larger than the polls leading up to the primary suggested (two polls released within the past week had Clinton up by less than 10 points).

9:48 p.m. Republican (87% reporting)
McCain = 65%
Huckabee = 22%
Paul = 7%

10:20 p.m. Democratic (97% reporting)
Clinton = 58%
Obama = 41%

10:20 p.m. Republican (97% reporting)
McCain = 65%
Huckabee = 22%
Paul = 7%

Previous post: Live Blog: Texas Primary
Next post: Live Blog: Texas Caucuses

Leave a comment

Remains of the Data

Kevin McCarthy Becomes Least Tenured Floor Leader in US House History

At less than four terms, McCarthy has served 423 fewer days in the chamber than any floor leader in U.S. House history and almost 10 years less than the average leader.

Political Crumbs

The Second Time Around

Former Republican Congressman Bob Beauprez became the seventh major party or second place gubernatorial candidate in Colorado to get a second chance at the office when he narrowly won his party's nomination last month. Two of the previous six candidates were successful. Democrat Alva Adams lost his first gubernatorial bid to Benjamin Eaton in 1884, but was victorious two years later against William Meyer. Democrat Charles Johnson placed third in 1894 behind Republican Albert McIntyre and Populist incumbent Governor David Waite but returned as the Fusion (Democrat/Populist) nominee in 1898 and defeated GOPer Henry Wolcott. Gubernatorial candidates who received a second chance but lost both general elections include Democrat Thomas Patterson (1888, 1914), Progressive Edward Costigan (1912, 1914), Republican Donald Brotzman (1954, 1956), and Republican David Strickland (1978, 1986).

How Are the Plurality Winners Doing?

Nearly 40 percent of plurality winners of U.S. Senate elections lose their seat in the next election cycle. Will that happen to any of the three such incumbents on the ballot in 2014? Recent polling suggests Democrats Al Franken of Minnesota, Mark Begich of Alaska, and Jeff Merkley of Oregon all currently have an advantage over their nominated/frontrunning GOP opponents, but each is flirting with plurality support once again. Franken led endorsed GOPer Mike McFadden 48 to 42 percent in a new SurveyUSA poll while the polling group showed Merkley with a 50 to 32 percent advantage over Monica Wehby. Begich led each of the three major GOP candidates in last month's PPP survey: 42 to 37 percent over Daniel Sullivan, 41 to 33 percent over Mead Treadwell, and 43 to 27 percent over Joe Miller.


Humphrey School Sites
Humphrey New Media Hub

Issues />

<div id=
Budget and taxes
Campaign finances
Crime and punishment
Economy and jobs
Foreign affairs
Race and ethnicity
Third parties