Landscape Architecture alumni receive ASLA-MN design awards

The American Society of Landscape Architects-Minnesota Chapter (ASLA-MN) presented their design awards on April 29, 2011 at the ASLA-MN 2011 Awards Celebration and Gala.

Bryan Carlson, FASLA (BLA, 1971), Bryan Carlson Planning and Landscape Architecture, received the Lob Pine Award, the highest Honor given by ASLA-MN. Recipients of this award demonstrate exemplary leadership and mentorship for the landscape architecture community over an extended period of time.

Cindy Zerger (Center for Changing Landscapes; MLA/MURP, 2008) received the H.W.S. Cleveland Award. The award is given annually to an individual trained in landscape architecture who is not yet licensed. Recipients have shown through their work and service to ASLA-MN that they have the potential to be a leader in the profession.

oslund.and.assoc., Tom Oslund's (BLA, 1980) landscape architecture firm, received the Public Landscape Design Award for Target Plaza.

Savanna Designs, Jim Hagstrom's (BLA, 1975) landscape architecture firm, received the Private Landscape Design Award for Waverly Gardens.

The Community Design Excellence Award was received by Cecily Hines of the Minneapolis Parks Foundation for her work with the Next Generation of Parks speaker series and Minneapolis Riverfront Design Competition. The College of Design and Department of Landscape Architecture co-sponsored the Next Generation of Parks speaker series and were creative partners for the Minneapolis Riverfront Design Competition.