University of Minnesota Extension
Menu Menu

Extension > Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences Intranet > Congratulations


| Leave a comment

This month we have many awards to share. I am impressed though not surprised. Thank you for your hard work and dedication--and congratulations.
-Mike Schmitt

Jeff Reneau received the Dean's Award for Outstanding Leadership during Program Conference. Jeff leads by example, while at the same time advocating for his Extension team first. Jeff is an Extension animal scientist in dairy and also serves as program leader for the regional livestock Extension educators. This has led to first-rate Extension dairy programming for U of M Extension for more than three decades as well as greater exposure and impact for all livestock programming in the past eight years that he has been the livestock area program leader.
-Mike Schmitt

Marla Spivak
is the 2013 recipient of the Campus Based Faculty Dean's Award, which recognizes excellence of an Extension faculty member in performing the work of Extension education. Marla truly embodies the mission of Extension; her combined research career and Extension programming have significant impact on food and agriculture. She has taken a multi-pronged approach to Extension outreach by working with commercial bee breeders and backyard beekeepers with hands-on mentoring, e-learning, short courses, and beyond.
-Mike Schmitt


Patrick Huelman, Extension specialist in building and energy systems, won the Excellence in Building Science Education AWARD at the Department of Energy's Solar Decathlon in Irvine, CA. Pat was recognized for his work teaching students how to produce buildings that are energy-efficient, healthy, comfortable, and durable. In addition to this personal award, Pat's NorthernSTAR Building America Partnership picked up two Building America Top Innovation awards for exterior insulation, and builder and market support for Zero Net Energy Ready Homes.
-Nate Meyer, program leader

Kevin Janni, Extension engineer, received the 2013 American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Henry Giese Structures and Environment Award for his leadership contributions and research on emissions from animal facilities. Kevin was honored during the awards program at the ASABE Annual International Meeting in Kansas City, MO. Click here to find out more about Kevin's work and the ASABE award.

Extension integrated pest management specialist Bruce Potter has been named Educator of the Year by the Mid America CropLife Association (MACA). Each year Potter, who works with the Southwest Research and Outreach Center in Lamberton, attends no fewer than 40 to 50 meetings, publishes multiple Extension articles and articles in peer-reviewed journals, and publishes a very popular weekly newsletter. Bruce is known for his gift of interpreting and presenting complex issues in his talks and newsletters with clarity, logic, wit, and humor, and he is currently one of our most requested speakers.
-Ian Mac Rae, state IPM coordinator

Several Extension employees received awards from the National Extension Associate of Family and Consumer Sciences (NEAFCS). Mike Reichenbach, Eli Sagor, and Angela Gupta, Extension educators of natural resource management and utilization received the Environmental Education Award for Intergenerational Land Transfer Collaborative Education along with Rebecca Hagen-Jokela and Cindy Petersen, Extension educators of family resource management.

Extension's Water Resource Team was recognized by the Association of Natural Resource Extension Professionals at the Joint Council of Extension Professional's Galaxy IV conference in Pittsburgh, PA in September. Extension Educators Karen Terry, John Bilotta, Doug Malchow, Shane Missaghi, Mary Blickenderfer and Eleanor Burkett earned the Gold Award for newsletters (series of articles) for their From Shore to Shore newsletter, which educates Minnesota citizens about shoreland management to improve water quality, habitat, and aesthetics for lakes and rivers. Click here to read the current issue of From Shore to Shore.

NACAA awards
The National Association of County Agricultural Agents presented their annual awards at the 2013 Galaxy Conference in Pittsburgh, PA in September. Other individuals and teams were recognized as well. Congratulations to all.
-Tim Arlt, program leader


Extension beef and small farms educator Mike Boersma received the Achievement Award for his work with livestock education for youth in Pipestone and Murray counties and the two computerized ration analysis programs he developed for beef producers.


Diane DeWitte, an Extension educator serving Blue Earth and Le Sueur counties, received the Distinguished Service Award for her 22 years of service as an educator in Indiana and Minnesota. Diane specializes in swine production, crops, dairy, and the Master Gardener education program. Also, Diane and Laura Kieser's poster, "Local Extension Dairy Series Meets 21st Century Needs" was selected for presentation from 1100 applications.



Congratulations to Lizabeth Stahl, Jeff Coulter, Seth Naeve, Dale Hicks, Steve Quiring, and Tom Hoverstad as the National First Place Winner in the Applied-Research Poster Competition for "On-Farm Evaluation of Twin-Row Corn and Soybean in Southern Minnesota."

Other awards


Congratulations to Rob Holcomb and the labor management team for achieving a National Finalist Search for Excellence in Farm and Ranch Management award for the Employment Skills for Today: Planning for Success program and curricula. Rob gave a presentation at Galaxy and was presented with a plaque. Other Team members were Chuck Schwartau, David Bau, Gary Hachfeld, Antonio Alba Meraz, and Don Nitchie.


Chuck Schwartau was a National Communications Award Winner in the Radio Program Category for his entry "Farm Safety."


Brad Carlson was selected for a National Finalist Award in the video communications category for "Introduction to Selecting a Farm Tractor."

A special thanks goes out to current NACAA member Chuck Schwartau, Galaxy Chair and Life member Neil Broadwater for their efforts on the Galaxy Steering Committee. Along with being chair, Chuck was also representing NACAA and Neil represented ESP.

Leave a comment

  • © 2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy