February 2011 Archives

Spotlight: English Undergraduate Conference

We would like to invite each of you to participate in the Second Annual English Undergraduate Conference, scheduled on April 7-8, 2011, in 150 Lind Hall. This conference was held for the first time last year and was a smashing success - we hope the same will be true again this year.

We are looking for abstract submissions, attendees, and volunteers to make sure things run smoothly! If you would like to attend or submit your work, check out the website at http://english.umn.edu/ugrad/conference.html. Registration and abstract submissions are open now!

If you'd like to volunteer to be involved with the conference, just email ayles001@umn.edu and I'll make sure I keep you in the communication loop.

The deadline for submissions is coming up soon - March 1. Submit your abstract today! We will have an abstract-writing how-to workshop being held later in February, so be sure to watch for that announcement as well.

Writing Awards - Apply today!

ArtWords: Writing at the Weisman
Deadline: Thursday, March 10, submissions to Creative Writing Office, 222 Lind

Eligibility: Undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in a creative writing course at the University of Minnesota fall 2010 or spring 2011.

Readers: Local writers, Weisman staff.

Criteria: Visit public artwork on campus and write a one-page prose piece or poem in response to the work. Submit your work with the appropriate cover sheet by the deadline. Names should not appear on the submitted work.

Ã…pplication: Cover sheet, submission, Coversheets, maps, artwork lists available in the Creative Writing Program Office, 222 Lind Hall. Winners announced in early April. Public reading on April 28, 2011, 7 pm. Three winners in the graduate category; three in the undergraduate category. Winners receive gift certificates to the Weisman Museum Store.

Academy of American Poets James Wright Prize
Deadline: Thursday, March 10, submissions to Creative Writing Office, 222 Lind
Award: $100

Eligibility: Undergraduate and graduate students currently enrolled at the University of Minnesota.

Criterion: Quality of writing

Reader: Garrison Keillor

Application: Cover sheet (name, address, phone, email, title of poems), 2 poems. Names should not appear on poems.

MFA Alumna Hopper Profiled

Kate Hopper (MFA 2005) was featured in the Minneapolis Star Tribune February 13. Hopper teaches Mother Words, a class offered at the Loft Literary Center and online. Hopper also writes the Mother Words blog.

Graduate Student News

Nick Robinette (PhD 2010) has accepted a tenure-track position at James Madison University in Virginia. He had previously held a position as Visiting Assistant Professor at Oberlin College. . . . Chang-Hee Kim (PhD 2009) has accepted a tenure-track position at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Engineering in South Korea. . . . PhD candidate Renee Delong has accepted a tenure-track position at Minneapolis Community and Technical College. . . . PhD candidate Patricia Baehler was awarded a Thomas Wallace Fellowship from the Graduate School for the 2011-12 academic year. Congratulations to all!

Alumnus and Alumna Win Literary Awards

Cover image of Safe from the SeaPeter Geye (BA 2000) has won the inaugural Independent Literary Award for fiction, a prize given by literary bloggers, for his novel Safe From the Sea. (The runner-up was Great House by Nicole Krauss.) "I'm bowled over," said Geye in an interview with the Minneapolis Star Tribune. . . . MFA alumna Swati Avasthi won a CYBILS Award for Young Adult Fiction for her debut novel Split (Knopf). The CYBILS Children and Young Adult Bloggers' Literary Awards are given each year by bloggers for the year's best children's and young adult titles. Congratulations!

New Books from PhD Alumni/ae

Three recent graduates of the PhD program published first books this past fall: Adam Barrows (PhD '06), The Cosmic Time of Empire: Modern Britain and World Literature (University of California Press), Marcela Kostihova (PhD '04), Shakespeare in Transition: Political Appropriations in the Postcommunist Czech Republic (Palgrave Macmillan, 2010), and Anca Parvulescu (PhD '06), Laughter: Notes on a Passion (Short Circuit/MIT Press, 2010). Parvulescu is featured in the Washington University in St. Louis Newsroom. Congratulations to all!

Minnesota Book Award Finalists

Cover image of DogfightFour Department of English alums are finalists for Minnesota Book Awards: William Reichard (poetry, Sin Eater), Lightsey Darst (poetry, Find the Girl), Swati Avasthi (young people's literature, Split), and Matt Burgess (novel and short story, Dogfight, a Love Story). Winners will be announced at the 23rd Annual Minnesota Book Awards Gala on Saturday, April 16, in Saint Paul.


Powered by Movable Type 4.31-en

About this Archive

This page is an archive of entries from February 2011 listed from newest to oldest.

January 2011 is the previous archive.

March 2011 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.