University of Minnesota Extension
http://www.extension.umn.edu/
612-624-1222
Menu Menu

Extension > Health and Nutrition News > Eat Right, Your Way, Every Day

Eat Right, Your Way, Every Day

| Leave a comment
NNM calendar snip with color.PNG
Download the calendar (121 K PDF)

If you've been following us on Facebook, you might have heard that March is National Nutrition Month®. This month is a perfect opportunity to take a look at your habits and see what small steps you can take toward better health.

We've made it easy for you: take our National Nutrition Month® Eat Right, Your Way, Every Day Challenge for thirty-one opportunities to make positive changes. You can print this page or this PDF, download a calendar, or follow us on Facebook. Included in the calendar and on our Facebook page are resources to help you complete some of the challenges. You may also find it helpful to dedicate a note book or computer file to recording your observations.

This challenge is for you, so use the calendar however you want. Too busy to do every challenge? Just pick one or two days each week. Don't like a certain challenge? Skip it, modify it, or make your own. Think you'll need some help? Enlist a friend or family member to complete the challenges with you.

Eat Right, Your Way, Every Day

Friday, March 1

Calories count! Use our calorie calculator to find your number.

Saturday, March 2

Eat a dark, leafy green vegetable today.

Sunday, March 3

Plan ahead! Decide what to make for 2 meals this week. Write them down and post on the fridge.

Monday, March 4

Find a meatless main dish recipe and cook it for dinner.

Tuesday, March 5

Track how much water you drink today and save the record.

Wednesday, March 6

Clean out your fridge. Get rid of moldy and expired food.

Thursday, March 7

Write down everything you eat today. Do you make different choices?

Friday, March 8

Read a nutrition facts label. What is the serving size? How many calories are in 1 serving?

Saturday, March 9

Going to a party this weekend? Split a dessert with someone.

Sunday, March 10

Plan ahead! Decide what to make for 3 meals this week. Write them down and post on the fridge.

Monday, March 11

Make a main dish with quick-cooking lentils for dinner tonight.

Tuesday, March 12

Track how much water your drink today and compare to last week.

Wednesday, March 13

Clean out your pantry. Get rid of stale and expired food.

Thursday, March 14

Write down everything you eat today and compare it to last week.

Friday, March 15

Read a nutrition facts label. How many calories are from fat?

Saturday, March 16

Make a casserole for dinner tonight with extra veggies.

Sunday, March 17

Plan ahead! Decide what to make for 4 meals this week. Write them down and post on the fridge.

Monday, March 18

Make a main dish with beans for dinner tonight, using dry beans.

Tuesday, March 19

Set a goal for how much water you want to drink and track your intake. How did you do?

Wednesday, March 20

Clean out your kitchen drawers. Donate anything you haven't used in the past year.

Thursday, March 21

Write down everything you eat today. Are you noticing any patterns?

Friday, March 22

Read a nutrition facts label. How much fiber is in one serving?

Saturday, March 23

Find a healthy dessert recipe to try or make some healthy swaps to an old favorite.

Sunday, March 24

Plan ahead! Decide what to make for 5 meals this week. Write them down and post on the fridge.

Monday, March 25

Make a main dish with tofu for dinner tonight.

Tuesday, March 26

Set a goal for how much water you want to drink and track your intake. Tell a friend how you did.

Wednesday, March 27

Clean out your kitchen cabinets. Donate any pots, pans, bowls, or plates you haven't used in the past year.

Thursday, March 28

Write down everything you eat today. Do you notice any patterns?

Friday, March 29

Read a nutrition facts label. How much sodium is in one serving?

Saturday, March 30

Going to a party this weekend? Eat a healthy snack before you go.

Sunday, March 31

Write down all the meals you planned this month. Use the list to plan menus for April.

Leave a comment


Type the characters you see in the picture above.

  • © 2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy