« October 2011 | Main | December 2011 »

November 22, 2011

4-H Shooting Sports & Wildlife Management PDC meeting - November 2011

The CWC SS/W PDC held their meeting on Monday November 21st at Gander Mtn in Baxter.

Elections were held with the results being :
Chair - Alyssa Burley
Co-Chair - Nancy Schroeder
Recorder of minutes - David Schroeder
Treasurer - Marissa Spencer

There are 9 adult committee members and 10 youth members

We are planning something for the County Project Day in January as well as having another open house the third Monday in March at Gander Mtn in Baxter.

We are putting plans in place to attend the State Shoot on October 8th and 9th in Fairmont Mn.

November 7, 2011

4-H Eagles Club Clothing and Textiles Project Meeting

Submitted by Rylie Young

On October 21, three members of the Pequot Eagles 4-H club, Isabel Glover, Hannah McMahon and Rylie Young, attended a 4-H Clothing and Textiles project meeting at Cindy Terwilliger's home.

At the meeting we learned how our sewing machines work, practiced sewing on paper, and then we learned about woven and knitted fabric.

We started sewing tote bags and will finish them next month then start on another project.
If anyone wants to join us to learn how to sew contact the extension office and leave your name.

Sewing project group.JPG

Hannah, Rylie and Isabel showing
worksheets done at project meeting

Rylie sewing.JPG
Rylie demonstrating how to make a
pivot turn

November 2, 2011

Black Bear 4-H Club installs officers, honors award-winners

By Megan Vogt and Abby Schreier
The Black Bear 4-H Club held its annual awards banquet Sunday, Oct. 23, at
Gloria Dei Lutheran Church in Pequot Lakes.

The Shining Star Awards went to 4-Her Sarah Fairbanks and to Cloverbud Dana
Hammer. Winners of these awards are chosen by their 4-H peers.

The Friend of Black Bear Award was given to John Bieganek for his help to
pour concrete for a sidewalk at the Heritage Garden at the Nisswa Pioneer
Village and for his donation of wood for park benches.

The following 4-H officers for the next year were installed: Fairbanks,
president; Dalton Schreier, vice president; Abby Schreier, secretary; and
Morena Hammer, treasurer.

Positions include Megan Vogt and Abby Schreier as reporters; Dalton Schreier
as youth scrapbook coordinator; Morena Hammer as sergeant at arms; Kelsi
Bergquist, Fairbanks and Dalton Schreier as club photographers; and Kayla
Geike as Birthday Club coordinator.

Honored for attendance at 4-H meetings in the past year were Zachary
Iverson, Abby Schreier and Morena Hammer, no missed meetings; Fairbanks,
Dalton Schreier and Samantha Meier, one missed meeting; and Dana Hammer and
Bergquist, two missed meetings.

Geike was inducted as a new member of the Black Bear 4-H Club.

For more information to join the club, contact Cindy Terwilliger at


4H officers:


From left, Black Bear 4-H Club officers installed for the next year are
Morena Hammer, treasurer; Abby Schreier, secretary; Dalton Schreier, vice
president; and Sarah Fairbanks, president.

Shining Stars:


From left, Shining Stars for the Black Bear 4-H Club are Dana Hammer,
Cloverbud member, and Sarah Fairbanks, 11th grade. Recipients of the Shining
Star Award are voted on by club members. Considerations include being
friendly and helpful and exhibiting 4-H spirit.

4-H Awards & Recognition Program

4-H awards 35.jpg 4-H awards 34.jpg 4-H awards 33.jpg 4-H awards 31.jpg 4-H awards 32.jpg 4-H awards 30.jpg 4-H awards 28.jpg 4-H awards 29.jpg 4-H awards 27.jpg 4-H awards 26.jpg 4-H awards 25.jpg 4-H awards 20.jpg 4-H awards 21.jpg 4-H awards 22.jpg 4-H awards 23.jpg 4-H awards 24.jpg 4-H awards 19.jpg 4-H awards 16.jpg 4-H awards 17.jpg 4-H awards 18.jpg 4-H awards 10.jpg 4-H awards 12.jpg 4-H awards 15.jpg 4-H awards 2.jpg 4-H awards 3.jpg 4-H awards 1.jpg 4-H awards 4.jpg 4-H awards 5-GraceStudniski.jpg 4-H awards 8Joshua Studniski.jpg