« 4-H Awards & Recognition Program | Main | 4-H Eagles Club Clothing and Textiles Project Meeting »

Black Bear 4-H Club installs officers, honors award-winners

By Megan Vogt and Abby Schreier
The Black Bear 4-H Club held its annual awards banquet Sunday, Oct. 23, at
Gloria Dei Lutheran Church in Pequot Lakes.

The Shining Star Awards went to 4-Her Sarah Fairbanks and to Cloverbud Dana
Hammer. Winners of these awards are chosen by their 4-H peers.

The Friend of Black Bear Award was given to John Bieganek for his help to
pour concrete for a sidewalk at the Heritage Garden at the Nisswa Pioneer
Village and for his donation of wood for park benches.

The following 4-H officers for the next year were installed: Fairbanks,
president; Dalton Schreier, vice president; Abby Schreier, secretary; and
Morena Hammer, treasurer.

Positions include Megan Vogt and Abby Schreier as reporters; Dalton Schreier
as youth scrapbook coordinator; Morena Hammer as sergeant at arms; Kelsi
Bergquist, Fairbanks and Dalton Schreier as club photographers; and Kayla
Geike as Birthday Club coordinator.

Honored for attendance at 4-H meetings in the past year were Zachary
Iverson, Abby Schreier and Morena Hammer, no missed meetings; Fairbanks,
Dalton Schreier and Samantha Meier, one missed meeting; and Dana Hammer and
Bergquist, two missed meetings.

Geike was inducted as a new member of the Black Bear 4-H Club.

For more information to join the club, contact Cindy Terwilliger at


4H officers:


From left, Black Bear 4-H Club officers installed for the next year are
Morena Hammer, treasurer; Abby Schreier, secretary; Dalton Schreier, vice
president; and Sarah Fairbanks, president.

Shining Stars:


From left, Shining Stars for the Black Bear 4-H Club are Dana Hammer,
Cloverbud member, and Sarah Fairbanks, 11th grade. Recipients of the Shining
Star Award are voted on by club members. Considerations include being
friendly and helpful and exhibiting 4-H spirit.