Go to HHH home page.

We have moved!

Global Notes has moved to a new home at http://globalnotes.hhh.umn.edu/. Please visit us there, and update your bookmarks.

Alliance of Civilizations International Fellowship



The creation of the Alliance of Civilizations International Fellowship Program (AoCIF) was announced by the UN High Representative for the Alliance of Civilizations' President Sampaio on the occasion of the second Forum of the Alliance, which was held on April 6 and 7, 2009, in Istanbul. The Fellowship Program is inspired by one of the major recommendations of the report of the High-level Group to intensify youth exchanges between the United States, Europe, and Muslim countries. The objective of the Fellowship Program is to facilitate mutual, substantive, and meaningful exposure for emerging leaders from North America, Europe, Middle Eastern, and North African countries to media, culture, politics, business, governmental institutions, civil society, and religion in one another's countries.


The German Marshall Fund of the United States, with its long standing experience in organizing the Marshall Memorial Fellowship Program and with its offices located in the United States, Europe, and Turkey, will coordinate the program and organize the visits in close cooperation with other founding partners of the program, namely, the British Council; the League of Arab States; the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization; and the Alliance of Civilizations.

Application - 2010 Inaugural Program

Applications are now being accepted for the inaugural Alliance of Civilizations International Fellowship program, to be held in March and April 2010. Nominators and interested candidates are asked to review the guidelines and eligibility criteria, and all applicants must be citizens or permanent residents of one of the countries listed below. Please click here to download the application form.

List of Eligible Countries

Middle East and North Africa:
Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Monaco, the Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and the United Kingdom.

North America: Canada and the United States

Career Resources

Click here for:

Career Resources