Go to HHH home page.

We have moved!

Global Notes has moved to a new home at http://globalnotes.hhh.umn.edu/. Please visit us there, and update your bookmarks.

6 HHH students nominated for 2012 Freeman-Stassen Award

The HHH global policy area received 6 excellent nominations for the 2012 Freeman-Stassen Award.

The nominations are:

1. Jessica Gabriel, MPP, creating pilot project for Global Mentor Program (nominated by Lynne Schuman)

2. Grant Hoheisel, MPP professional paper "Complex Ties: Assessing US-China Rhetoric and Policy" (nominated by Robert Kudrle)

3. Bridget Marchesi, MPP professional paper "Is Lower Fertility a Path to Better Human Rights" (nominated by Dara Cohen)

4. Rebecca Olson, MPP professional paper "Forced to Flee, Forced to Fight: The Role of Refugee Child-Soldiers in Chad, Thailand and Jordan" (nominated by Deborah Levison)

5. Mary Small, MPP professional paper "Challenges to IDP Policy Implementation in Colombia" (nominated by Greta Friedemann-Sánchez and Ryan Allen)

6. Brandon Wu, MPP profesional paper "Local Struggles in Global Paradigms: Afro-Colombians, Human Rights and Development" (nominated by Robert Kudrle)

The purpose of this award is to challenge Humphrey School graduate students to excel in international activities. To that end the Freeman and Stassen faculty chairs jointly offer a $500 award to a student or students who achieve excellence in international activities during their program at the Humphrey School. This award may be given for the following kinds of activities:
* Institutional innovation at the Humphrey School that helps strengthen the Institute's global programs
* A professional paper that addresses an international problem;
* A paper done as a part of coursework in the Institute or done independently of formal course work; or
* Fieldwork done in an internship as part of the student's regular degree program.

The criteria for evaluating the submissions include (1) academic rigor, (2) institutional innovation, (3) creativity, (4) contribution to policy design and implementation, and (5) contribution to the Institute and its programs. Nominations for the award must be made by the student's advisor with a brief statement (one page) of support. Students are encouraged to suggest their work to their advisors for possible submission. Advisors can submit more than one nomination.

Nominations will be judged by a committee of three faculty members who have substantial international involvement and/or experience. Awards may be given to two or more students. An award will not be given if a nomination of exceptional quality is not forthcoming. The decision of those judging the awards will be final.

The 2012 selection committee members are Professors Dara Kay Cohen, Sherry Gray, and Robert Kudrle.

Recent past awardees are:

Rachel Garaghty
, MPP, for contributions to the overall internationalization of the Humphrey School. http://blog.lib.umn.edu/gpa/globalnotes/2011/06/mpp-student-rachel-garaghty-20.php

The first recipient is Kristen Rau, MPP, for her paper, "Decisions of De-ethnicization: The RPF's Denial and Invocation of Ethnicity in Rwanda."
The second Freeman-Stassen Award goes to a capstone paper written by Matt Buley, Ameila Kendall, Michelle Lamere, and Pepe Wonosikou. Their paper, "Neglected Tropical Diseases: Neglected Long Enough," addresses endemic and systemic health problems that affect the developing world.

The first recipient is Joel Larson MSTEP.
The second Freeman-Stassen Award: Anna Langer, MPP

Career Resources

Click here for:

Career Resources