Go to HHH home page.

Taking the prize(s)

The University's Center for Transportation Studies (CTS) honored several members of the Humphrey School community this academic year for their work in transportation research.

Each year, the Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Institute at CTS selects one graduate student for the Outstanding Student of the Year Award sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation's Research and Innovative Technology Administration. Fay Cleaveland, a second-year Master of Urban and Regional Planning (MURP) student, was this year's recipient.

State and Local Policy Program Director Lee Munnich, Jr., received the 2010 Richard P. Braun Distinguished Service Award, which is presented annually to a transportation professional for outstanding leadership in research and innovation. The award is named in honor of the founding director of CTS.

Research Fellow Ferrol Robinson was selected for the 2010 Ray L. Lappegaard Distinguished Service Award. The award is presented to a transportation professional who displays outstanding leadership, mentorship and support to the profession.

Zhiyi Xu, a MURP candidate, received the John S. Adams Award for Excellence in Transportation Research and Education for his paper "Exploring the connections among residential location, self-selection, and driving behavior: A case study of Raleigh, N.C." The Adams award is named in honor of Professor Emeritus John S. Adams, a significant contributor to transportation-related research, education, and outreach activities. MURP graduate Katie Roth was the inaugural recipient last year.

No responses to “Taking the prize(s)”

Leave a Reply

Some HTML is permitted: a, strong, em