Humphrey blog posts

Kerrey: I'll always be a Nebraskan

Eric Ostermeier provides analysis on re-election history for Senators who leave and come back to office.

Only 22 senators in the nation's history have returned to the Senate after leaving for 12 years or more, said Eric Ostermeier, a political scientist at the University of Minnesota who writes the nonpartisan Smart Politics blog. The last time a senator with a long time gap won re-election was 2010, when former Indiana Sen. Dan Coats cruised to an easy win after more than a decade out. "It has happened, but it's unusual," Ostermeier said.
January 14, 2012

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs