August 17, 2012

History's 2012-13 Fulbright Scholars

University of Minnesota announces 2012-13 Fulbright Scholars

The Department of History is proud to announce that 5 Bachelor level and 2 Graduate level Fulbright Scholarships have been awarded to History students. There were a total of 19 Fulbrights awarded for 2012-2013. Congratulations to all!

Bachelor level Fulbright Scholarships

Amy Conner, a 2012 alumna of the College of Liberal Arts and the University Honors Program, will be a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant in Croatia working with English students at the university level. Conner graduated magna cum laude and with high distinction this spring with majors in history, political science and Spanish studies.

Andrew Larkin, who earned his bachelor of arts in history with a minor in economics before graduating with distinction in December 2011 from the College of Liberal Arts, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to the United Kingdom to pursue a master's degree in history.

Michael McGarrah has been awarded a Fubright English Teaching Assistantship to Spain. McGarrah graduated from the College of Liberal Arts and the University Honors Program this spring summa cum laude and with distinction, earning a major in child psychology and minors in Spanish studies and history.

Tanya Wacholz is one of two U of M Twin Cities students awarded a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship in Germany during the coming year. Wacholz is a spring 2011 graduate of the College of Liberal Arts with majors in history and German studies.

Emilia Witthuhn is the recipient of a Fulbright-affiliated Austrian Government Teaching Assistantship. Witthun is a 2008 graduate of College of Liberal Arts with a major in German studies and a minor in history.

Graduate level Fulbright Scholarships

Jesse Wolf Izzo, a Ph.D. student in history, will spend the academic year at Hebrew University in Jerusalem, Israel.

Melissa Kelley, a Ph.D. student in history, will travel to select German universities.

Continue reading for more information on each History student's Fulbright plans along with profiles of all 2012-2103 Fulbright winners.

July 18, 2012

Best Dissertation Award 2012: Caley D. Horan, History

University of Minnesota 'Best Dissertation' Awards for 2012

Arts & Humanities - Caley D. Horan, History
Advisers: Regents Professor Elaine Tyler May and Professor Lary May
Dissertation: Actuarial Age: Insurance and the Emergence of Neoliberalism in the Postwar United States
Current Position: Lecturer, Princeton University

Each recipient will receive an award of $1,000.

Congratulations, Caley Horan!

Continue reading "Best Dissertation Award 2012: Caley D. Horan, History" »

May 17, 2012

Earl Lewis Elected Next President of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation have elected Earl Lewis (History Ph.D 1984 UofM) to be the Foundation's next President, effective March 2013.

Since July 2004 Lewis has been Emory University's Provost and Executive Vice-President for Academic Affairs. He is also the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of History and African American Studies. As Provost, Lewis is Emory University's chief academic officer, overseeing the educational policies and priorities of the University and appointments of faculty across the schools and divisions.

Read More

January 30, 2012

Entrepreneur Scott Litman, B.A. '90, Raises Funds for Combat Veterans

1990 History B.A., Imaginet, Minnesota Cup, and Magnet 360 co-founder, and one of 200 Minnesotans You Should Know, Scott Litman "speaks about his volunteer efforts with a non-profit venture he helped launch and sustain: the Minnesota Military Appreciation Fund, which raises money for troops returning from overseas combat zones."

Read More