Cyprus Institute

The Cyprus Institute  (CyI), is a non-profit science and technology research and educational institution.  Formally established in 2005 and increasingly gaining visibility both locally and internationally since then, started its operations in earnest in September 2007.

The formal inauguration of the 'Guy Ourisson' building at the Athalassa Campus took place on December 10, 2007, by the then President of the Republic, the late Mr Tassos Papadopoulos.  Marking the formal commencement of operations of the first Research Center: the Energy, Environment and Water Research Center (EEWRC)

In February 2009, the Science and Technology in Archaeology Research Center (STARC) and the Computation-based Science and Technology Research Center (CaSToRC) were officially launched.

Multi-level founding partnerships with internationally prominent institutions ensure the development of the Centers in close collaboration with world leaders in their respective fields. Additional collaborations with other research and academic institutions together with local authorities further enhance the development. The current list of collaborators include:

Founding Partnerships:

  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign 
  • Centre de recherche et de restauration des Musées de France 
  • Research Promotion Foundation, in Cyprus 


  • University of Cyprus
  • Max Planck Institute for Chemistry
  • Municipality of Pafos
  • Municipality of Geroskipou