Bridging Cultures Through Film Grant Opportunity

Bridging Cultures through Film: International Topics

January 5, 2011(receipt deadline)

Bridging Cultures films will spark Americans' engagement with the wider world through the exploration of countries and cultures outside of the United States, and/or across nations.

Films might take a wide range of approaches to international and transnational topics:

* an examination of a critical issue in ethics, religion, or history, viewed through an international lens;
* an approach to a topic or subject that transcends the idea of traditional nation statehood and explores it across borders;
* a biography of a foreign leader, writer, artist, or historical figure; or
* an exploration of the history and culture(s) of a specific region, country, or community outside of the United States.

Projects must be analytical and deeply grounded in humanities scholarship. We encourage innovative nonfiction stories and creative formats that will reach broad audiences. Films must range in length from a stand-alone broadcast hour to a feature-length documentary.

Applicants should demonstrate international collaboration by enlisting U.S.-based and non-U.S.-based scholars and/or by working with an international media team.
Two levels of support are available: Development (up to $75,000) and Production (up to $800,000).

Who is eligible? Any U.S. nonprofit organization with IRS 501(c)(3) tax exempt status is eligible. Grants are not awarded to individuals. Independent producers who wish to apply are advised to partner with an eligible organization, which can act as fiscal sponsor.

Deadline: January 5, 2011(receipt deadline)

Notification of awards will be in September 2011.

For more information, please contact:

Division of Public Programs
202-606-8269
publicpgms@neh.gov

All applicants, particularly first-time applicants, are encouraged to contact NEH program officers who will answer questions about the review process, supply samples of similar applications, and review preliminary drafts.

Barbara Bays, 202-606-8290, bbays@neh.gov
Jeff Hardwick, 202-606-8287, jhardwick@neh.gov
Clay Lewis, 202-606-8288, clewis@neh.gov
David Martz, 202-606-8297, dmartz@neh.gov
John Meredith, 202-606-8218, jmeredith@neh.gov
Karen Mittelman, 202-606-8631, kmittelman@neh.gov
Kathleen Mulvaney, 202-606-8270, kmulvaney@neh.gov
Danielle Shapiro, 202-606-8241, dshapiro@neh.gov
Michael Shirley, 202-606-8293, mshirley@neh.gov
David Weinstein, 202-606-8308, dweinstein@neh.gov

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner