2009 State History Day Prizes

This year the Friends of the IHRC sponsored topical prizes for immigration for the State History Day contest which took place on Saturday, May 2, 2009, at Coffman Union (U of M).
Six projects were cited for excellence, of which three will be awarded cash prizes by Friends of IHRC. The finalists for three awards are: Erik Hilgren, Joseph Gifford and Rebekah Nelson and Jenny Klejeski, Sarah Yang, Fredy Perez Vasquez and Phuoc Huynh and Yer Xiong , Monica Bueltel, and Ruth Kostohris.
Judges for this year were Board Member Kalju Kubits and IHRC Acting Director Haven Hawley and Normandale Community College Bernard Maegi.

History Day is a program that invites young people to explore a historical subject related to an annual theme. History Day makes the themes broad enough to allow students to be able to explore any topic in any era of history. Students in grades 6-12 may participate in the fair. Students compete in different categories, and their work is reviewed by historians, educators and professionals. The top students in each category are eligible to participate in the National History Day competition in June.
For more information about the finalists you can follow this link.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Meghan Delisi published on September 21, 2009 2:48 PM.

Germanic American Newsletter Now Available was the previous entry in this blog.

Friends of IHRC Board Meeting Sept. 26, 2009 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.