Recently in awards Category

2012 Aronson & Associates Immigration Law Firm Endowment Fund is seeking grant proposals to fund projects, programs and/or services that address issues related to the acculturation of new immigrants into our community. Grants are made only to qualifying nonprofit organizations. Hard copies of grant applications must be received by Friday, April 13, 2012.

Nominations for the 6th Annual Immigrant of District Award

The Minnesota/Dakotas Chapter of the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) is pleased to announce that it is now accepting nominations from the community for its sixth annual Immigrant of Distinction Award.

The Immigrant of Distinction Award honors immigrants in Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota who have made substantial contributions to their communities or professions through exceptional leadership, high achievement or moral courage. Nominees serve as role models to future immigrants and citizens alike, remind us of the debt we all owe to the creative force of immigration, and illustrate the blessings of this great country.

The nomination deadline is February 8, 2012, and the applications for
nomination may be downloaded at:

Minnesota History Day prizes

The theme for 2012 History Day is "Revolution, Reform and Reaction in History." Friends of the IHRC will be offering three topical cash prizes of $100 each for the best Minnesota History Day projects that apply the theme to immigration history. FFI

NEWS RELEASE: Friends of IHRC receive Minnesota Legacy Grant

Local organization directly benefits from funds appropriated by the Legacy Act. Minneapolis (September 5, 2010) - The Friends of the Immigration History Research Center, in collaboration with historians Marilyn J. Chiat and Jeanne Halgren Kilde, have been awarded a Historical and Cultural Heritage Grant of $13,123, from the Minnesota Historical Society.

2010 State History Day Prizes Awarded

Minnesota History Day was held Saturday, May 1, 2010, at the University of Minnesota's
Coffman Union. The Friends of the IHRC gave $100 topical prizes for projects dealing with immigration. Congratulations to Isidora Radovanovic, "Tesla's Alternating Current System: Powering our Future" (Junior Individual Documentary) and Emily Fitterer, Katelyn Graham, "Ellis Island: Island of Hope, Island of Tears" (Senior Group Exhibit).

2009 State History Day Prizes

This year the Friends of the IHRC sponsored topical prizes for immigration for the State History Day contest which took place on Saturday, May 2, 2009, at Coffman Union (U of M).
Six projects were cited for excellence, of which three will be awarded cash prizes by Friends of IHRC. The finalists for three awards are: Erik Hilgren, Joseph Gifford and Rebekah Nelson and Jenny Klejeski, Sarah Yang, Fredy Perez Vasquez and Phuoc Huynh and Yer Xiong , Monica Bueltel, and Ruth Kostohris.
Judges for this year were Board Member Kalju Kubits and IHRC Acting Director Haven Hawley and Normandale Community College Bernard Maegi.

2008 State History Day Prizes

This year the Friends of the IHRC sponsored topical prizes for immigration for the state History Day contest which took place on Sunday, April 27, 2008, at Coffman Union (U of M). The 2008 National History Day theme was Conflict and Compromise in History. Friends of the IHRC awarded $50 to each of the chosen winners: Luke Stone, C. Knopp-Schwyn and Clara Linehan. Judges for this year were Board Member Jeanette Pafko and IHRC Acting Director Haven Hawley.

About this Archive

This page is an archive of recent entries in the awards category.

events is the next category.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.