Editor and IHRC Associate Lou Ann Matossian Receives Ethnic Media Award

New America Media, the nation's first and largest collaboration of ethnic news organizations, honored Lou Ann Matossian, an editor of the Armenian Reporter, at the 2009 National Ethnic Media Expo & Awards in June for excellence in international affairs reporting. Matossian has a long association with the IHRC and currently serves on the Collections Advisory Council.

Hillary Rodham Clinton has called the NAM Awards "the equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize" for ethnic media. Representing more than 2,500 ethnic news organizations, the NAM Expo is the largest convening of ethnic media in the United States. Matossian is Eastern U.S. Community News Editor for the Armenian Reporter.

Matossian was named runner-up in the International Affairs category for her two-part reporting on the Institute of Turkish Studies scandal, a story she broke in the Armenian Reporter and which was later covered by the Huffington Post, Hatewatch, Inside Higher Ed, Znet, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, Chronicle of Higher Education, and London Review of Books.

ITS Board Chairperson Donald Quataert, who stepped down in December 2006 after he acknowledged the Armenian Genocide in a book review, allegedly was forced to resign under pressure from the Turkish Embassy, which denied the charges. Several other ITS board members resigned in protest, citing concerns about academic freedom, according to the Armenian Reporter's coverage.

A list of winners of NAM awards is available. For more details on the award, visit newamericamedia.org.

Matossian has represented the Armenian Cultural Organization of Minnesota on the Friends of the IHRC Board and served as vice president of the Friends of IHRC. In addition to being a member of the Collections Advisory Council, she is an active researcher in the IHRC collections. Her research has focused on the migration and settlement history of Armenians in Minnesota since 1899, as well as the Minnesota missionaries who served in Ottoman Turkey from the American Civil War through the establishment of the Turkish Republic in 1923.

We congratulate you on this award!