Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity and Transnationalism (CCMET)

The Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity and Transnationalism is a new academic organization created to foster and facilitate collaboration among historians working in this field. Those interested in the history of migrations, ethnicity, transnationalism and related subjects are invited to join the CCMET listserve or visit the web site. (more)

Through the listserv, the CCMET circulates details about upcoming conferences, requests for panel participants, and calls for papers. Ideas and information on esources and archival collections are shared that will stimulate and inform research on the history of migration and related subjects.

The CCMET was established in June, 2009, during the annual meeting of the Canadian Historical Association (CHA). The executive committee of the CCMET is composed of the following officers: Lisa Chilton, University of Prince Edward Island (Chair), Royden Loewen, University of Winnipeg (Vice-chair), Bruce Elliott, Carleton University (Secretary-treasurer), and two members at large (Laura Madokoro, University of British Columbia, also listserv moderator ex officio, and Tina Chen, University of Manitoba).

The CCMET listserve and web presence may be accessed at the following link: note that you may have to copy and paste this address into your browser). If you would like assistance relating to the listserv, please contact Laura Madokoro at Any other questions may be directed to Lisa Chilton at