Skip to main content.University of Minnesota. Home page.
Department of Biomedical Engineering.

About IPrime

Who's Involved

IPrime Membership

Partnership Programs

Supporting Facilities

News & Events

Related Links

Contact IPrime


IPrime Home

 

  Home | News and Events

Mid-Year IPrime Workshop 2010

The IPrime workshop "Toughness in Polymers" was held on the University of Minnesota campus on Thursday 14 January 2010 in Electrical Engineering / Computer Science Building 3-210. Frank Bates put together an exciting program, and many colleagues were able to join us.

This workshop was free and open to IPrime member companies, and those considering membership.

For those considering IPrime membership, please contact Bob Lewis about attending future events as an IPrime guest.

Program:

9:00 AM Introduction Frank S. Bates

9:05 Hung-Jue Sue, Texas A&M (hjsue@tamu.edu)
Nano-Scaled Toughening and Strengthening Phenomena in Polymers

9:35 LaShanda Korely, Case-Western University (ltk13@case.edu)
Bio-inspired Strategies for Mechanical Enhancement

10:05 Chris Macosko, University of Minnesota (macosko@umn.edu)
Functional Polyolefins for improved adhesion and fracture toughness

10:35 Break

10:55 Michael Kessler, Iowa State University (mkessler@iastate.edu)
Toughness Enhancement in Ring Opening Metathesis Polymerization-Based Nanocomposites

11:25 Marc Hillmyer, University of Minnesota (hillmyer@umn.edu)
Block copolymer strategies for toughening polylactide

11:55 Break for lunch

1:30 Kim Chaffin, Medtronic Corp. (kim.chaffin@medtronic.com)
Interfacial Toughness

2:00 Robert Bubeck, Michigan Macromolecular Institute (bubeck@mmi.org)
The Micromechanics of Deformation in Rubber-Toughened Thermoplastics

2:30 Frank S. Bates, University of Minnesota (bates@cems.umn.edu)
Toughness through Multiblock Copolymer Architectures

3:00 Wrap up


News & Events