« Canadian farmer found guilty of murder in serial killings | Main | Cowboys beaten by Giants »

Tim Tebow becomes first underclassman to win Heisman Trophy

Florida’s sophomore quarterback Tim Tebow became the first underclassman in college football history to win the Heisman Trophy Saturday night in New York.

Tebow collected 1,957 total points, including 462 first place votes. Arkansas’ Darren McFadden finished second in the voting for the second consecutive year with 1,703 votes. Hawaii’s Colt Brennan and Missouri’s Chase Daniel finished third and fourth in the voting.

"It's surreal a little bit," Tebow said, according to the Associated Press. "It's just overwhelming."

Tebow set records for his performance on the field this season, which helped propel him to the Heisman Trophy.

Tebow became the first player in college football history to throw and rush for 20 touchdowns. Tebow, a quarterback, also rushed for more touchdowns than any Heisman winning running back has. According to the Kansas City Star, Tebow’s 22 rushing touchdowns is also a Southeastern Conference record.

Tebow also became the third player from the University of Florida to win the award. Steve Spurrier won the Heisman Trophy in 1966 and Danny Wuerffel in 1996.