Faceted Searching to be Added to JSTOR

from JSTOR

JSTOR will introduce a new "faceted search" feature in early July. The faceted search will offer a number of different options to expand and refine search results. Faceted searching and search results will allow you to easily visualize how the returned articles are distributed among categories, or "facets." For instance, with faceted search you can see how many of your results are in each discipline, how many are book reviews or full-length articles, and how many articles contain images, among other options. You'll be able to modify your search results by choosing specific facets, and all search results pages will now incorporate the facets sidebar to make modifications easier.

Several webinars have been scheduled to provide overviews of the new search functionality. If you're interested in seeing a preview of the new functionality, we encourage you to sign up for one of the sessions this week. Screenshots of the new functionality have also been posted on JSTOR's Facebook page, in the photo album "New Faceted Search Interface."

In order to register for a webinar, please follow one of the links below.

Using the JSTOR Interface, Including New Faceted Search
(Includes a broader overview of the JSTOR platform)
Wed, Jun 24, 2009 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM EDT
(20:00-21:00 GMT, 3-4 PM CDT, 2-3 PM MDT, 1-2 PM PDT)
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/509152089

JSTOR's New Faceted Search
Thu, Jun 25, 2009 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM EDT
(16:00-16:30 GMT, 11-11:30 AM CDT, 10-10:30 AM MDT, 9-9:30 AM PDT)
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/448280776

JSTOR's New Faceted Search
Fri, Jun 26, 2009 2:00 PM - 2:30 PM EDT
(18:00-18:30 GMT, 1-1:30 PM CDT, 12-12:30 PM MDT, 11-11:30 AM PDT)
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/600741080

Using the JSTOR Interface, Including New Faceted Search
(Includes a broader overview of the JSTOR platform)
Tue, Jul 7, 2009 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM EDT
(14:00-15:00 GMT, 9-10AM CDT, 8-9 AM MDT, 7-8 AM PDT)
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/732180304

JSTOR's New Faceted Search
Thu, Jul 16, 2009 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM EDT
(16:00-16:30 GMT, 11-11:30 AM CDT, 10-10:30 AM MDT, 9-9:30 AM PDT)
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/952029465

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by balad001 published on June 23, 2009 11:22 AM.

ProQuest New eLibrary Begins June 25 was the previous entry in this blog.

ProQuest Platform Enhancements is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Pages

Powered by Movable Type 4.31-en