« RSS Service Achievement Award | Main | QR Code Generator »

ACRL Webcast - A Mobile Bridge: QR Codes and Libraries

Live Webcast
January 26, 2011
11 a.m. Pacific | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 p.m. Eastern

90 minutes

Registration for this event is now open!

Description:

One future of library services lies in applying mobile technology to bridge the gap between print media and digital information. QR Codes are two dimensional barcodes scan able by smart phones that link real-world objects to online data. They offer an opportunity to leverage mobile devices to access digital information and extend the power of rich print or analog media into mobile learning and research environments.

This webcast will introduce this powerful yet simple mobile technology and will explore the many possible applications of QR Codes in academic libraries. Joe Murphy (Yale Science Libraries, libraryfuture on Twitter) will discuss the implications of QR Codes for information engagement, learning, and discovery in a mixed media age and will demonstrate the potential power as well as the complications of leveraging this emerging technology in our libraries. Learn how best to create and employ QR Codes to enhance library services, collections, and spaces to keep our libraries part of our patrons' information flow in a digital and mobile world.

For more information and to register visit:
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/events/elearning/courses/qrcodes.cfm

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)