University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota Foundation
Giving to medicine and health at the University of Minnesota

Powell receives distinguished service award

Deborah Powell, M.D.

Deborah Powell, M.D., dean of the Medical School and assistant vice president for clinical sciences, in July received the Association of Pathology Chairs’ Distinguished Service Award—the group’s highest honor.

Powell is the first woman to receive the award, which has been presented annually since 1986 to an individual who has made substantial contributions to academic pathology in research, in education, or in advancing the discipline of pathology in the medical community and to the public.

“Dr. Powell has been one of the leading individuals in the country for advancing medical education and adapting to the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century,” says James Crawford, M.D., Ph.D., president of the Association of Pathology Chairs. “She is held in the highest regard by the academic pathology community for her national leadership, and it is our privilege to recognize her with our highest honor.”

You can make a difference

Help the University of Minnesota save lives, inspire hope, and prepare the world’s future health care leaders. Make a gift today.

Because with your support, anything is possible.

Make a Gift

Your gift is an investment in a healthier tomorrow!
Give Online  |  More Ways to Give