University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota Foundation
Giving to medicine and health at the University of Minnesota

Ugurbil inducted into prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Since 1780 the American Academy of Arts and Sciences has been honoring the world’s leading scientists, scholars, artists, business executives, and public leaders. And this fall, a University of Minnesota Medical School scientist has joined this exclusive and prestigious group.

Kamil Ugurbil, Ph.D., director of the University’s Center for Magnetic Resonance Research, was inducted into the 225th Class of Fellows in October along with 195 other new fellows and 17 new foreign honorary members. Other 2005 awardees include the late Supreme Court Justice William Rehnquist, TV newsman Tom Brokaw, actor Sidney Poitier, Nobel Prize-winning physicist Eric Cornell, and Google founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page.

Ugurbil, who holds the McKnight Presidential Chair in Radiology, is one of 28 University of Minnesota faculty members invited to join the academy over the years. Anne Pusey, director of the University’s Jane Goodall Center for Primate Research, was also inducted in 2005.

You can make a difference

Help the University of Minnesota save lives, inspire hope, and prepare the world’s future health care leaders. Make a gift today.

Because with your support, anything is possible.

Make a Gift

Your gift is an investment in a healthier tomorrow!
Give Online  |  More Ways to Give