University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota Foundation
Giving to medicine and health at the University of Minnesota

U lung scientists recognized with national awards

Distinguished Achievement Awardee John Marini, MD., (left) with ATS President-Elect Nicholas S. Hill, M.D.
Photo courtesy of the American Thoracic Society

Another member of the University of Minnesota’s Center for Lung Science and Health (CLSH) has received a major national award from the American Thoracic Society (ATS).

In May, John Marini, M.D., a professor of medicine in the University’s Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine division, received the ATS Distinguished Achievement Award, which recognizes those “who have made outstanding contributions to fighting respiratory disease through research, education, patient care and advocacy.”

That’s the third major ATS award received by a CLSH faculty member in the past four years.

Two years ago, Dennis Niewoehner, M.D., the center’s COPD program leader, received the ATS Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishment.

In 2007, ATS awarded Peter Bitterman, M.D., CLSH executive research director, the Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishment in recognition of his contributions to the prevention and treatment of lung disease.

“It is very rare to have this level of accomplishment at one University,” says the Center’s executive director, David Ingbar, M.D.

You can make a difference

Help the University of Minnesota save lives, inspire hope, and prepare the world’s future health care leaders. Make a gift today.

Because with your support, anything is possible.

Make a Gift

Your gift is an investment in a healthier tomorrow!
Give Online  |  More Ways to Give