Congratulations to the 2011 Premack award winners

The 35th annual Premack Awards took place on April 19, 2012 at McNamara Alumni Center at 5 p.m. In addition to the announcement of the Premack Award winners, this year's award ceremony featured a keynote from PolitiFact founder Matt Waite.

Excellence in public affairs reporting (Print/Online; Larger Organization)
Elizabeth Mohr and MaryJo Webster, St. Paul Pioneer Press, "Notorious Landlords" (pdf)

Excellence in public affairs reporting (Print/Online; Smaller Organization)
Brandon Stahl, Duluth News Tribune, "Minnesota Sex Offender Program" (pdf)

Excellence in public affairs reporting (Broadcast/Online)
Mark Albert, Mike Maybay, Erik Altmann, Jim O'Connell and Lee Zwiefelhofer, KSTP-TV , "Welfare Waste"

Excellence in opinion writing (Larger Organization)
Jill Burcum, Star Tribune, "UCare donation raises questions" (pdf)

Excellence in opinion writing (Smaller Organization)
Kathy Vos, The Free Press, "Law would endanger teen health" (pdf)

Graven Award: Dave Pyle, Minnesota Associated Press, received the Graven Award. The Premack Board honored Pyle for his 21 years of leadership at the Minnesota Associated Press.

Farr Award: Lynda McDonnell, ThreeSixty Journalism received the Farr Award for her tireless efforts in nurturing young journalists who come from underrepresented communities through the ThreeSixty Journalism program.

Visit the Premack Awards website for more information, links to articles and more.

Recent Entries

Attention MN Journalists: How Can the MJC Serve You?
The Minnesota Journalism Center is the outreach arm of the University of Minnesota's School of Journalism & Mass Communication. Our…
National Geographic Photographer Annie Griffiths to Receive SJMC Award for Excellence
Annie Griffiths (B.A., 1976) has been selected at the 2013 Award for Excellence recipient, awarded by the SJMC Alumni Society.…
MJC Welcomes Author Brad Parks
How do journalistic skills and the practice of journalism lend themselves to fiction writing? Does working in a newsroom make…