Local Government Innovation & Redesign

To support local government redesign efforts and recognize the innovative work already underway, the Public and Nonprofit Leadership Center has partnered with state associations to create the Local Government Innovation & Redesign Guide and host a yearly Local Government Innovations Awards ceremony.

Reading List

Powered by Delicious


Local Government Innovation Awards & Guide

lgi PNLC logo sm.jpgThe Local Government Innovation and Redesign Guide by Jay Kiedrowski has been updated to include the winners from this year's Local Government Innovations Awards. This year's awards focused on service redesign. Entries were judged on innovation, impact, sustainability/potential for growth, and public support.

The ceremony was held on April 13 at the Humphrey School, and we recognized 13 innovators, including:

  • Collaborative Fire & EMS Provision: Collaboration between Cloquet Area Fire District - City of Cloquet, Perch Lake Township, City of Scanlon, Fond du Lac Indian Reservation

  • Eagan 150th Anniversary Food and Fund Drive: City of Eagan

  • Excelsior Parking Impact Fee: City of Excelsior

  • One Book One Rosemount: City or Rosemount

  • Recreation Programming Joint Powers Agreement: Collaboration between the City of Maplewood and City of North Saint Paul

  • Anoka County Emergency Management Paid On Call Program: Anoka County Emergency Management

  • Crow Wing County Landfill Gas Fueled Boiler: Crow Wing County Sanitary Landfill

  • Upfront Services to Keep Families Together: Anoka County Human Services

  • W82go: Olmsted County

  • Dropout: Collaboration between TIES, Hennepin County Juvenile Court, Bloomington School District, Brooklyn Center School District, and Intermediate 287 School District

  • Flexible Learning Year-FLY: Southwest/West Central Service Cooperative

  • Mobile Science Lab - Connecting Classrooms and Careers: Southeast Service Cooperative

  • Shared Financial Services: Lakes County Service Cooperative: ISD #926

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota partners with the Association of MN Counties (AMC), the League of Minnesota Cities (LMC), and the MN School Boards Association (MSBA) to conduct the Awards. The Public Strategies Group and Ehlers provide financial support for the awards.

Photos from the awards are on the PNLC flickr site (all images copyright George Byron Griffiths Photography).

Congratulations to all the winners!

Post a comment

The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of the page author(s), and do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of the Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs or the University of Minnesota. The contents of this page have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Minnesota or the Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs.