« January 2007 | Main | March 2007 »

February 26, 2007

Kathleen Collins: McKnight Land Grant

Congrats to Professor Kathleen Collins, who was named a McKnight Land-Grant Professor.

February 25, 2007

Undergrad Awards

In 2006, our department had both a Truman Scholar and a Rhodes Scholar!

Joseph Walla is a 2006 Truman Scholar and is interested in developing creative solutions to entrenched conflicts.

Diana Fu is a 2006 Rhodes Scholar and interested in human rights.

February 20, 2007

Kathryn Pearson: Best Dissertation

Kathryn Pearson won the APSA Legislative Studies Section's Carl Albert Dissertation Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the area of legislative studies. She is revising her dissertation, "Party Discipline in the Contemporary Congress: Rewarding Loyalty in Theory and in Practice," into a book manuscript. Her project combines quantitative data analysis and interviews of key elites to identify and analyze the mechanisms of discipline that party leaders employ to reward loyal members and punish defectors.