« July 2010 | Main | November 2010 »

September 24, 2010

Congratulations to Joanne Miller and Dara Strolovitch

Associate Professors Joanne Miller and Dara Strolovitch, Department of Political Science, with co-authors Seth Masket (University of Denver) and Michael Heaney (University of Michigan), received the American Political Science Association's Political Organizations and Parties Section award for the best paper delivered at the 2009 Meetings of the APSA for the paper, ""Networking the Parties: A Comparative Study of Democratic and Republican National Convention Delegates in 2008.

Congratulations to Bud Duvall

Bud Duvall has been named the inaugural recipient of the Interpretive Methodologies and Methods group's Grain of Sand Award, to be awarded at the American Political Science Association meeting in Washington, DC. The award is given "to honor a political scientist whose contributions to interpretive studies of the political, and, indeed, to the discipline itself, its ideas and its persons, have been longstanding and merit special recognition."

Congratulations to Shawn Treier

Assistant Professor Shawn Treier received the Gregory Luebbert article prize for the best article published in 2008-09 in the field of comparative politics. This award is from the American Political Science Association's organized section on Comparative Politics. Shawn received it for his 2008 American Journal of Political Science article, "Democracy as a Latent Variable" with Professor Simon Jackman, Stanford University.

September 15, 2010

Hire a Minnesota Ph.D.!

We have several highly qualified graduate students who will be seeking academic appointments for the fall of 2011. These students are well-educated, promising political scientists. Our graduate program is rigorous, and emphasizes breadth of scholarship, with experience in original research and preparation for teaching.

Our candidate information page is at http://www.polisci.umn.edu/grad/hire_mn.html