University of Minnesota Extension
Menu Menu

Extension > Regional Sustainable Development Partnerships > Southwest > About the region

About the region

The Southwest Minnesota Sustainable Development Partnership is a citizen-driven Board of Directors working with citizens in the region to create and sustain healthy ecosystems; strong local economies; and vibrant, self-reliant communities. Its mission--launching education and research that help people understand and achieve sustainability in their region--supports projects that demonstrate public purpose and builds partnerships with citizens of the region and links these projects to local assets and University of Minnesota research and educational resources.

The Southwest region generally includes though is not strictly limited to activities in the following counties:

  • Big Stone
  • Brown
  • Chippewa
  • Cottonwood
  • Douglas
  • Faribault
  • Grant
  • Jackson
  • Kandiyohi
  • Lac qui Parle
  • Lincoln
  • Lyon
  • Martin
  • Murray
  • Nobles
  • Pipestone
  • Pope
  • Redwood
  • Renville
  • Rock
  • Stevens
  • Swift
  • Traverse
  • Watonwan
  • Yellow Medicine

Historical note and invitation.The Southwest Regional Sustainable Development Partnership has been serving rural Minnesota for more than a decade. From 1998 through 2011, the West Central Partnership operated as a 12 county region. The geographic region was expanded in 2012 and the program renamed the Southwest Partnership. New members of the Board of Directors were elected to represent the newly included counties and new projects are now being identified and implemented. Please contacts us with ideas and suggestions as we explore our new situation.

  • © 2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy