« Iowa Wrestling Set to Compete in Kaufman-Brand Open | Main | InterMat/NWMA/NWCA Division I Individual Wrestling Rankings »

Mack Reiter chosen for NWCA All-Star Classic

The National Wrestling Coaches Association has announced that two-time All-American Mack Reiter of the University of Minnesota has been selected to replace Missouri's Tyler McCormick at 133 pounds at the 42nd annual NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps.

The University of Oregon's McArthur Court will host the event on November 19 at 7 p.m. (PST)

It is Reiter's third All-Star Classic selection, however, he did not compete in the 2006 event after tearing his anterior cruciate ligament prior to the event. McCormick pulled out with a slight leg injury

Reiter joins teammates Jayson Ness (125), Dustin Schlatter (149) and Roger Kish (184) as Golden Gophers as participants in the event.

Minnesota wrestlers have made 20 previous appearances in the NWCA All-Star Classic.

Reiter will face top-ranked Coleman Scott of Oklahoma State at 133 pounds. The Iowa native is the second replacement in this year's event. On Monday, Wade Sauer of Cal State-Fullerton was named to replace Northwestern's Dustin Fox at heavyweight.

125: No. 1 Paul Donahoe (Nebraska) vs. No. 4 Jayson Ness (Minnesota)
133: No. 1 Coleman Scott (Oklahoma State) vs. No. 4 Mack Reiter (Minnesota)
141: No. 2 Charles Griffin (Hofstra) vs. No. 3 Nathan Morgan (Oklahoma State)
149: No. 1 Dustin Schlatter (Minnesota) vs. No. 2 Josh Churella (Michigan)
157: No. 2 Craig Henning (Wisconsin) vs. No. 3 Mike Poeta (Illinois)
165: No. 2 Eric Tannenbaum (Michigan) vs. No. 3 Patrick Pitsch (Arizona State)
174: No. 1 Keith Gavin (Pittsburgh) vs. No. 2 Matt Stolpinski (Navy)
184: No. 1 Jake Varner (Iowa State) vs. No. 2 Roger Kish (Minnesota)
197: No. 2 Phil Davis (Penn State) vs. No. 3 Mike Tamillow (Northwestern)
285: No. 1 (D2) Tervel Dlagnev (Neb.-Kearney) vs. No. 3 (D1) Wade Sauer (Fullerton)

125: No. 1 (NAIA) Trevor Lofstedt (Southern Oregon) vs. Jake Gonzales (Oregon State)
174: Ron Lee (Oregon) vs. Luke Feist (Stanford)